Notices

RayMarine Hsb2 question

Old 04-17-2003, 06:22 PM
  #1  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 91
Default RayMarine Hsb2 question

Purchased the L760RC recently (Fishfinder/GPS chartplotter with Raychart) and am trying to figure out the most economical way to add radar with radar/chart overlay. Anyone have this unit that has already doine this?

Thanks,

Lucky
reel luck is offline  
Old 04-17-2003, 07:01 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, Fl.
Posts: 217
Default RayMarine Hsb2 question

We have that same unit on our boat and plan to add radar. I don't think you can have the overlay work with it in this unit (could be wrong), our plan is the basic radar display. I think the cheapest way to go would be to buy a monochrome second display. You can switch them around if you are having trouble navigating or finding secret bottom spot. We are hoping to find a color display on the resale but most I've seen are the radar/plotters vice just radar.
I sent the link to my boat partner and electronics expert so hopefully he'll throw his two cents in soon.
Hope this helped.
seacapt is offline  
Old 04-17-2003, 07:22 PM
  #3  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 91
Default RayMarine Hsb2 question

The unit has an addendum to the owners manual saying that the newer units will do chart with Radar Overlay, but it doesn't give specifics on whether or not you can simply add a radar dome or if you need a complete controller/disply with a dome.

I have a feeling that I am going to have to buy a unit and dome, but maybe I can at least get away with a small monochrome head unit and use the color display of the L760RC. If you have the older unit you can upgrade the software and hardware to allow the overlay, but my guess is that it would cost more than you would save.

Lucky
reel luck is offline  
Old 04-17-2003, 08:39 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Lure, NC,USA
Posts: 472
Default RayMarine Hsb2 question

Raymarine.com has good info for you re hsb, hsb2 and seatalk units. If your L760 is hsb2, good. If not, Ray will update hardware & software if needed.

Scout 202 SF Yamaha F200
Capt Ahab is offline  
Old 04-18-2003, 03:26 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, Fl.
Posts: 217
Default RayMarine Hsb2 question

What I was trying to say is;

Yes, it will overlay (as mine will)
No, I don't think you can overlay the radar over the plotter while using the split screen option (using the sonar and plotter)
Yes, you will need another display (can go monochrome or color display)
Yes, you need to buy the dome (doesn't have color/monochrome option).
seacapt is offline  
Old 04-18-2003, 07:05 AM
  #6  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niantic,CT
Posts: 67
Default RayMarine Hsb2 question

I believe it will do overlay. I think you need the heading sensor to enable the feature. I remember reading about it when I was researching my unit (RL70CRC+). You will also need to get a radar unit & hsb2 it, as the L760 does not have the ability to do it nativley (from what I have read).
Joeguy is offline  
Old 04-18-2003, 07:16 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York, NY/Barnegat Bay
Posts: 300
Default RayMarine Hsb2 question

In order to get radar you will need a radar unit (display and radome) as the L760 does not have a radar processor. You can then connect the two displays together using HSB2 and Seatalk cables and see any view (radar/ff/chart) on either display.

To do overlayy you will need a heading sensor, and I think you'll find when you look at adding one that it is not too much more to add an autopilot that has a heading sensor.

Finally, you'll want two displays because in split radar/chart mode the displays are too small to read.
sailfish272 is offline  
Old 04-18-2003, 11:23 AM
  #8  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 51
Default RayMarine Hsb2 question

Sailfish hit the nail on the head. I have the L760RC and a RL70C sent them to Raymarine had the software and hardware updates put in and I'm going to install the autopilot instead of just buying the heading sensor. Kill two birds with one autopilot!
Smoke Showin is offline  
Old 04-18-2003, 06:01 PM
  #9  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 91
Default RayMarine Hsb2 question

Now I get it .

Thanks for the info.

Lucky
reel luck is offline  
Old 04-19-2003, 06:13 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Shoreham, N.Y.
Posts: 111
Default RayMarine Hsb2 question

I have the RL70C and L760 with chart radar overlay. Not cheap to set up but works very well. Is especially helpful at night or in the fog. Easy to read and to ID where the buoy actually is located compaired to where the chart says it is supposed to be as well as help distinguish boats in the water vs. various markers. Very easy to use- was able to navigate back into an unfamiliar creek at night to my new dock on the first try.

In the end, as Thom would say, it is another boy-toy. Love the hsb2 capability on the Raymarine unit.
Jack

jaxsfish is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread