The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2007, 09:47 PM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location:
Posts: 2
Default Power inverter??

Can I run a TV off my new inverter?? I've heard there is a sine wave issue.
DL FISHING TEAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 05:22 AM   #2
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dartmouth MA
Posts: 5,672
Default Re: Power inverter??

DL - We've run our Toshiba 14" LCD TV/DVD player off a 1000 watt modified sine wave inverter for 4 years now with no issues. The more expensive, true sine wave units are supposed to be better for sensitve electronic stuff like laptops and other computer type stuff. Will probably get one of those when the time comes to replace the one we have but for what we need we've been happy.
mymojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 11:40 AM   #3
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Not in Texas
Posts: 10,213
Default Re: Power inverter??

You may or may no be able to run microcomputer based appliances from a modified sine wave inverter. Fwiw, some transformers (wall wart power supplies, etc) will choke on a modified sine wave, too. Try it an see how it goes. No probs running them from a true sine wave.
Eyeball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 03:08 PM   #4
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGERPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maui and SoCal
Posts: 7,103
Default RE: Power inverter??

I use a video display for my side scan sonar. When I first hooked it up with a cheapie inverter, I saw a bit of noise on the screen and thought I'd solve the problem with $700 worth of full sine wave inverter. Not so. It got worse. The cleanest power, at least as far as the display is concerned, is from the $50.00 Vector brand 750 watt inverted I bought from NAPA Auto Parts.

Try the easy one first...............
kerno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 05:37 PM   #5
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 2,970
Default Re: Power inverter??

Check the true voltage of your TV. If it's a new LCD it probably runs on 5 or 12vdc.
HDRyder999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 05:46 AM   #6
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dartmouth MA
Posts: 5,672
Default Re: Power inverter??

hdryder999-you're right our TV/DVD is a 12v unit but the cord that comes with it has an integral transformer that changes it to 120. Have not found a cord that plugs into the TV and also into the 12v system so i just stayed with the invertor for it. Suppose I could cut the cord before the trasformer but doesnt seem worth it.
mymojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2007, 10:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lake Mills, WI
Posts: 35
Default Re: Power inverter??

If you Google "Barrel and Audio style Power Connector Assortment" you can find a $8 set of plugs that will contain the plug that you need. Power wires are easily soldered on. I just cut the plug off my power supply and wired it to 12V. If I ever need to run it on 120 VAC again I'll solder it back on or add a connector.
Sorrento 25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:51 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.