The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2007, 01:10 PM   #1
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 73
Default Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

Does anyone have any experience with the GMR18 radar dome?
Should it be mounted direct to the hardtop or on a pedestal?
What's the best display to use with space limitations?
Will I need to relocate my GPR antenna? It's also on the hardtop.
Will this unit have the ability to see birds?
So many questions! Thanks in advance for the help!
NHStriper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 01:18 PM   #2
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 3,651
Default RE: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

I just got mine and I flush mounted it.....if you see below in other threads the issue was covered in other posts (Mounts). So far it has no effect on my GPS antenna's (Acquisition is fine) but I am still new to it, so I can't speak from real experience. I'll be out there this weekend and will post again...........
RocknReeln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 01:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,401
Default RE: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

Quote:
NHStriper - 5/10/2007 2:10 PM

1.Does anyone have any experience with the GMR18 radar dome?
2.Should it be mounted direct to the hardtop or on a pedestal?
3.What's the best display to use with space limitations?
4.Will I need to relocate my GPR antenna? It's also on the hardtop.
5.Will this unit have the ability to see birds?
So many questions! Thanks in advance for the help!
answers -
1.no experience with the 18 but other garmins
2. a pedestal will get you a bit better picture - depends nhow high your bow rides
3. a garmin display, obviously..how much space you got?
4. yes - dome and gps cannot be on same plane - gps must be higher or lower - antoher reson to get a strut
5. no....unless they are 100 yards in front of you...

do a search here - lots of pics on mounting and such
Glen E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 09:17 PM   #4
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 1,338
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

Heres my GMR 18


The GMR18 will NOT see birds further than your eyes. Does it work well, YES it does. I only use my radar for avoidance but I can see boats more than 6 miles out. Hope this helps
Mike
SWFLNavigation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 08:18 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location:
Posts: 411
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

Good lord, man! How many GPS antennas do you have up there? I count at least three...
b_arrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 08:32 AM   #6
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,417
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

The one on the right (of the picture) looks like sat radio (or weather).
davepen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 07:21 PM   #7
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 1,338
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

1 Garmin GPS antenna, 1 Garmin XM WX Satellite Weather antenna and 1 Sirius Satellite Radio Antenna. In addition to those I have a laptop with XM WX Weather on it as well. It allows you click anywhere and view the temp, wave height ect...

Here is what the XM WX weather looks like on the PC... I use this to find the guld stream in relation to my boat.


I will use this screen to look at the wave heights..


Here is more stream data..


Yes you can get this off my 3210 but not to this detail.. Hope this answers you question..
SWFLNavigation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 10:52 PM   #8
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 73
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

Thanks for all the help.
I was able to find a good deal on a 3006C dispay so I plan on going with it and starting the install tomorrow.
Mike ..... very impressive WX screen shots, I've got a long way to go to get to that point.
Any issues with the dome flush mounted or interference on the gps antennas?
NHStriper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 09:34 AM   #9
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pass Christian, MS
Posts: 162
Default RE: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

I am awaiting delivery of this unit from BOE. I am now a little worried about the noise. How loud is it. Is it worth moving up the Garmin line to get rid of the noise?
pcww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 05:41 PM   #10
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 1,338
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

PCWW, I responded to your other post.. As for interference. My GPS antenna is the one in the rear, I have no problems with the radar on. Will I have problems down the road? I doubt it, I don't use my radar very often. I only have radar for avoidance and adverse conditions like night or fog. I have XM Weather for rain and marine conditions. I want to keep a low profile on my boat for bridge clearance as well other wise I would have it mounted on a 5 in raise.
SWFLNavigation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 09:51 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 274
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

I need a little help. Can anyone show me how you ran your cables from the t-top on the GMR 18? DId you run them through your pipe channels? I would appreciate some images to give me some ideas. Thanks for your help.
e123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 10:28 PM   #12
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dartmouth MA
Posts: 5,672
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

e123 - you may want to pm a tht member named tripp24-he just did what you describe for his gmr 18 and might have some tips. I know I heard some swearing as he was doing the cable fishing (he's a neighbor) but he got it done.
mymojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 07:45 AM   #13
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 73
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

Let me know how you make out e123. I'm going to have the same issue running through the pipes from the hardtop. I'm considering cutting the nut off the connector and gluing it back with a plastic backing washer. Garmin sells a replacement connector but I'm not big on cutting and re-crimping the wires. thanks
NHStriper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 08:01 AM   #14
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,435
Default New Garmin 400/500/4000/5000 series CP's

Have the same functionality and display capability as the WXWorks PC version.

http://bluewaterpirate.phanfare.com/...ageID=16028731

http://bluewaterpirate.phanfare.com/...ageID=16375937

http://bluewaterpirate.phanfare.com/...ageID=16375932
bluewaterpirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 08:08 AM   #15
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dartmouth, MA
Posts: 206
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

e123, I had a problem with the radar arch piping being too full of wires and not able to snake that GMR18 connector/thick wire thru the pipe. The last thing I wanted to do was cut a brand new wire, so I unfortunately did the best job I could zip tying it along the piping. I will take some pictures tonight and post them tomorrow of you would like. As long as you keep it neat and hide it as much as possible than you will be fine. Sorry if I taught the kids new swear words mymojo!
Tripp24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 08:15 AM   #16
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,376
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

Striper, if you cut the connector off, leave a few inches of wire attached to the connector so that you can match the color code with the connector. I installed a GMR 404 last year and had to cut the RJ45 off to get the cable run. The wiring in the connector did not match the color code given with the instructions that came with the Garmin replacement connector. When I was trying to match the color code there was a wire, and I don't remember which one, that was obviously out of place on the connector that I had just cut off. I used my VOM and wrote down the actual color code of the connector and followed that for the reinstallation of a new RJ45. Do yourself a favor and buy the crimping tool, they are not very expensive. Practice installing the connector on a scrap piece of CAT5 cable. When you feel you've got the technique down, go ahead and finish the job. I know there are a lot of guys on the forum who install theses connectors, I'm sure everyone would agree that gluing isn't the way to go, use the crimp tool.
Team Ruby
Team Ruby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 08:36 AM   #17
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,435
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

Crimp it for sure..... glue is not a good choice .... plus it could cause problems with connectivity (i.e. glue on contacts).
bluewaterpirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 09:22 AM   #18
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 16,954
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

Crimping is best. Just cut off the Radar connector (RJ45 end), then feed the cable from the top down, then use the RJ45 connector you cut off as the sample to match the colors on the RJ45 you will be putting on. The manual that lists the wire order that comes with the replacement connector is definitely not right. The crimp tool at radio shack is like $15.
yachtjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 11:34 AM   #19
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: East Central Florida
Posts: 7,243
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

Quote:
NHStriper - 5/15/2007 7:45 AM

Let me know how you make out e123. I'm going to have the same issue running through the pipes from the hardtop. I'm considering cutting the nut off the connector and gluing it back with a plastic backing washer. Garmin sells a replacement connector but I'm not big on cutting and re-crimping the wires. thanks
You will never fish that Garmin factory end through your top. Its not that big a deal to cut it off and replace it though.

My GMR-40 came with a replacement connector packed in the box. You can also order them from Garmin's website. It is a shielded RJ-45 ethernet connector. I would NOT try to use one made for computer networks. You want the shielding and the waterproofing connector.

The cable is connected as what is called a"crossover" cable for computer use. That means the pin connections are different at each end. Just save the end you cut off and make up the replacement with the same connections. You can buy an RJ-45 crimping tool at Home Depot. It would be good to get some standard data type RJ-45 connectors and a piece of CAT5 ethernet cable and practice cutting, aligning, flattening and crimping with them before using the Garmin stuff. Any decent computer guy should be able to make it up for you too just make sure they deal with the shield correctly.
Seacat FL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 07:07 PM   #20
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 1,338
Default Re: Garmin GMR18 Radar ?

What we do is cut the end off the network cable. We use a EZ45's cat 5 connectors. Most RJ45 need ethernet cables need to be cut even, slid into the connector and crimped. The problem with this is if one cable is too short it wont carry a signal.


The EZ45's have the wires slide thru the connector and hang out the other side. You crimp them and cut off the excess. We also use the Garmin replacement connecter to ensure a waterproof fitting.

Here's a picture


You can buy the kit here
http://cableorganizer.com/ez-rj45-network-plugs/
SWFLNavigation is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.