Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Raymarine Ray 45 VHF Radio - wierd PTT to 16

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine Ray 45 VHF Radio - wierd PTT to 16

Old 05-09-2007, 03:03 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Raymarine Ray 45 VHF Radio - wierd PTT to 16

I have a Raymarine Ray 45 VHF radio. The other day I noticed that when I pushed the PTT button it changed from the channel I was on to channel 16. Thought I had forgotten to change the channel but no, it did it again, and again.

I called Raymarine and they said it was "a voltage issue."

I have charged my batteries and they read over 12 volts - however it still skipps to channel 16 every time I push the PTT button.

Anybody have any ideas?

Thanks for yor input

C Craft 23
Old 05-09-2007, 07:17 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Marblehead Ma./Charleston WV
Posts: 2,400
Received 56 Likes on 35 Posts
Default RE: Raymarine Ray 45 VHF Radio - wierd PTT to 16

2 Threads, same answer



My Icom used to do that ................It turned out to be a bad connection to the fuse blockwith corroded wires and loose crimp connections.

It is in the wiring to the radio itself.........Take your connections off from the radio to the power source , clean and recrimp the connections if necessary, thats probably where the problem is. You may also want to clean your antenna contacts while you are at it.

Old 05-10-2007, 04:12 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine Ray 45 VHF Radio - wierd PTT to 16

Sorry for the double-post. It showed me "submit" again so I figured it didn't the first time. Now I know.
Old 05-10-2007, 06:33 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine Ray 45 VHF Radio - wierd PTT to 16

Unless you moved the radio to within 3 feet of the antenna, you still probalby have a low voltage problem, but it isn't at the battery level, it is on the distribution side. Check all the wiring for loose or corroded connectors, paying close atention to the linline fuse that was hardwired into the factory powercord. Try temporarily running two leads straight to the battery if all else fails, bypassing your terminal/distribution block.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.