Notices

HomeElectronics Use

Old 01-19-2003, 08:34 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Shoreham, N.Y.
Posts: 111
Default HomeElectronics Use

Want to use winter to get to know my Raymarine RL70C and L760 better. What type of power connector should I get to plug into wall outlet? Can it be purchased at Radio Shack or is it a marine product?

Any hints for simulation use or some interesting things to do while sailing at my desk?

Jack
jaxsfish is offline  
Old 01-19-2003, 08:36 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern California
Posts: 277
Default HomeElectronics Use

radio shack sells a 110/12v converter, i use one. You will need your unit power cords though to plug into the coverter!!

JOHN
SPORT-CRAFT 252
john sturdivant is offline  
Old 01-19-2003, 09:17 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,805
Default HomeElectronics Use

ditto on the radio shack unit. I have the radio shack 3 amp 12 v power supply, and it drives my radar display, vhf, etc without a problem. I think it cost about $25. They have them going up to about 15 amps, but you shouldn't need that.

The only thing it doesn't run is my great white spotlight. that puppy pulls 12 amps and the 3 amp ps barely gets it to glow.

** sigh **
gerg is online now  
Old 01-19-2003, 03:20 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default HomeElectronics Use

I just have a small car battery, but its never been in a car. Wal Mart sold it for peanuts and I've been using it for all sorts of odd stuff like running the electronics. Handy thing to have around actuall.

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 01-19-2003, 09:19 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default HomeElectronics Use

12v power supply. Buy it online or at Sh_t shack. But, keep in mind you can't do much with it without the radom.... and in simulation mode.

You just can't wait to get your new Steiger back in the water, can ya?

See ya at Morriches in the early spring.

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 01-20-2003, 06:11 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,805
Default HomeElectronics Use

Birdman, I beg to differ on that one. Having the display powered on mine was invaluable in terms of verifying the correct wiring for nmea coms. As good as the raymarine docs were, it was still tought to figure out that they have seperate circuits for nmea in (2 of these) and out.

Also very helpful was a utility that sends nmea sentances. But that has nothing to do with power supplies I guess.

Of course, mine is also a chartplotter so a straight radar would be useful only to learn the menus and settings (which is also handy to know before you need it).

But, the ps was a definate plus to me. And I'm about thru with these single digit temps myself......

** sigh **
gerg is online now  
Old 01-20-2003, 07:53 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ocean Springs MS
Posts: 370
Default HomeElectronics Use

I power my electronics with the battery from my cordless 12 volt drill. I've had one at a time on for up to an hour and never ran the battery down. Aligator clips and a short run of wire are lots cheaper than converters and all that type stuff. Most electronics are rated at a range of voltage so even an 18 volt battery might work also.
rsnapper is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread