Notices

splitting GPS signal

Old 04-27-2007, 11:43 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Santa Fe TX
Posts: 5,402
Default splitting GPS signal

I have a Garmin 198C and am planning to buy a Garmin 540s (planning to run both). Is there any way to split the antenna signal or do i have to have two. Same goes for the transducer?
ono loco is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 05:57 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Santa Fe TX
Posts: 5,402
Default Re: splitting GPS signal

anyone..bueller..
ono loco is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 08:59 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,536
Default Re: splitting GPS signal

NO can not split the GPS antenna but you could run NMEA from the antenna connected unit to the other unit. However if the GPS goes down then both units loose GPs, no redunancy.

Transducer? I think you will find a difference here? The 540S can send sounder info via CANet but the 198C does not have this capability. Transducer for each unit.

In any case don't see much point in having 2 units relying on 1 GPS antenna and 1 transducer (if it was possible).
Kerry is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 10:20 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Santa Fe TX
Posts: 5,402
Default Re: splitting GPS signal

thanks Kerry
ono loco is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 11:11 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 13,812
Default Re: splitting GPS signal

Kerry- There certainly are a lot of folks using full-networked sysytems employing just one GPS antenna and 1 transducer.

Ono Loco- Since your 2 Garmins are not network type, I believe the only way 2 F/F transducers could service the 2 sets for other than just digital depth is with a transducer A/B (one or the other) switch. Lowrance offers this for their sets but it may well be available through Airmar to switch your setup. It doesn't seem like a great way to go since both sets will not F/F simultaneously. I suggest the use of 2 transducers (perhaps w/at least one as shoot thru if not cored or metal hull?) for best results.

I don't know about the Garmins but some GPS's won't accept NMEA input from another GPS but will from a separate Loran . It is supposedly sometimes possible to fool the 2nd set into accepting the 1st set's GPS 's NMEA 0183 output by configuring both as Loran out and in. Might be worth a shot, but of course, same as the true networked units, both will require their own chartware.
TTaxi is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 09:02 PM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 84
Default Re: splitting GPS signal

I've read that two transducers running at the same time can interfere with each other...before installing two, you might want to check that. Or accept it and arrange to only run one or the other.

Mike
mikeporterinmd is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 09:10 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,884
Default Re: splitting GPS signal

The 540 comes with an internal antenna but has the option to add an external. I have a 545 installed .... you don't need an external gps antenna.
bluewaterpirate is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread