Notices

Fuel flow monitor for E-TEC ?

Old 04-25-2007, 08:02 PM
  #1  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 32
Default Fuel flow monitor for E-TEC ?

I just repowered with twin 225e-tecs , is there anway way to plug into to the motor /s and get a fuel flow readout on any of my electronics or another display that i can purchase , or do i have to get say a navman and cut into the fuel lines etc. ? i have a garmin 3010. yr. 2000 raytheon radar/gps.. RL70, furnuno 582.
hot pepper is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 10:49 AM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 45
Default RE: Fuel flow monitor for E-TEC ?

You need to get the Evinrude I-Command digital gauges. It will network right from the engine and give you tons of live information. Hours, load, fuel flow, range, temperature, pressure, etc.
I have a single 225 e-tec and would not think of not having the I-Commands.
I also connected my fuel and oil tanks to it for additional info. I-Command digitial is NMEA 2000 so will not work with Garmin direcrtly but perhaps your ray.
Let me know if you have any more questions.
tmuller is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 12:25 PM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 45
Default RE: Fuel flow monitor for E-TEC ?

Also check this link. Shows ray and i-command.

http://www.pigdogtoad.com/stuff/boat.../09_12_06.html
tmuller is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 01:01 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 4,207
Default Re: Fuel flow monitor for E-TEC ?

The only raymarine units that I know which are nmea2000 compatible (which is what you'd need to get fuel burn data from the etecs directly) are the c series and e series. As mentioned, you can replace your gauges or *maybe* the garmin would work (you'd have to check the specs), but the furuno and ray units won't work.
Cooper is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 01:21 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Kingsland, GA
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: Fuel flow monitor for E-TEC ?

the older Garmin stuff is 0183 fairly certain but the new units are NMEA 2000 and according to someone I know the Lowrance/Icommand stuff will show up on them.
606zpx is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread