Notices

Lowrance software update problem

Old 04-25-2007, 09:27 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 369
Default Lowrance software update problem

I tried to update the software in my gps unit 6600 C HD to go from version 1.1 to 1.7. I copied the software to a SD memory card and then put the card into the unit. I turned on the unit and it seemed to recognize the card because there was a little icon in the bottom corner. It makes a noise like it it running and then it just shuts itself off. I then took out the card and restarted it, when I checked the software version it still had not updated. Can anybody tell me what I am doing wrong?

Appreciate any help. Thanks
sunbird is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 08:49 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 369
Default RE: Lowrance software update problem

Anybody have this problem before?
sunbird is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 09:11 AM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Burlington / Buxton, NC
Posts: 34
Default Re: Lowrance software update problem

Make sure the SD card is plugged in all the way. Many times it seems to be but needs to be pushed in about another 1/8". As the update occurs the screen will blank and a download progress bar will appear in the middle of the screen.

Milt
mfclapp is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 01:56 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hurdle Mills, NC
Posts: 58
Default Re: Lowrance software update problem

May be already done, but make sure you install the update on the card, not just copy it. The updates I've seen were an .exe file that had to be executed on a windows platform, then as part of the running program you get to choose the card to load it to. This screen also lets you automatically remove the update file from the card once done.

Chris
boling is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 02:59 PM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location:
Posts: 88
Default RE: Lowrance software update problem

I just did the same with my Lowrance LCX-19C GPS/Sonar unit. I tried it 3 times- each time thinking something had froze up since the screen went blank and there was no progress bar. Finally I decided to just leave it in and wait and sure enough after about 5-10 minutes of blank screen, the message appeared that it had completed the installation. Sure woud have rather had some feedback from the unit!
Stu_ny is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 03:23 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,112
Default Re: Lowrance software update problem

boling - 4/26/2007 1:56 PM May be already done, but make sure you install the update on the card, not just copy it. The updates I've seen were an .exe file that had to be executed on a windows platform, then as part of the running program you get to choose the card to load it to. This screen also lets you automatically remove the update file from the card once done. Chris
This is critical...the update comes in as a zipped file...once you double click on it it will open into 3-4 files. Save all the files onto the SD Card and then put it into the machine. When you power it up, it will open and install the files.
Parthery is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 04:41 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bethlehem,PA
Posts: 291
Default Re: Lowrance software update problem

Took me two days to download an update on my SD card. I have crappy dial up and nothing but problems freezing up of the screen. Yes make sure card is all the way in.
PA Hunter is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 05:01 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 369
Default RE: Lowrance software update problem

thank you for the help guys, I will try it tonight.
sunbird is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread