Notices

Garmin Radar Install Question

Old 04-24-2007, 01:51 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 55
Default Garmin Radar Install Question

Anyone have any experience with cutting the plug off of a garmin radar cable and reconnecting? it's looks just like a straight cat 5 connection, so I don't see why it would be so difficult. but any real life experiences/tips would be appreciated..

I want to cut the head off to make snaking it cleaner and easier since it's about 2/3 the diameter of one of the tubes I have to pull it through..

thanks!
steviewonder is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 01:55 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: Garmin Radar Install Question

it is not difficult if you have worked with cat 5 connects...it is a cat 5 connection - cut mine and reattached no problem...on a garmin 41...
Glen E is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 02:20 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 55
Default Re: Garmin Radar Install Question

thanks Glen! I have worked w/ cat 5 before but it's never been a pleasant experience.. did you use the provided extra plug or did you just reattach the existing plug? can you even reattach the existing plug since you have to "crimp" it
steviewonder is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 02:23 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: Garmin Radar Install Question

steviewonder - 4/24/2007 3:20 PM

thanks Glen! I have worked w/ cat 5 before but it's never been a pleasant experience.. did you use the provided extra plug or did you just reattach the existing plug? can you even reattach the existing plug since you have to "crimp" it

I used the new one - do a search here for "cat 5" - get a crimper at radio shack and smooth out the wires to be REAL FLAT is the key....
Glen E is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 02:37 PM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 55
Default Re: Garmin Radar Install Question

thanks again, you da man! hopefully I can post pics after this weekend of the install.. it's a full garmin bundle + radar and an ICOM 504 w/ remote mic on a sailfish 2660 wac. so far everything has come out super clean..
steviewonder is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 08:48 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: East Central Florida
Posts: 7,292
Default Re: Garmin Radar Install Question

Glen is right about smoothing the conductors out flat before before crimping. It is an ethernet "crossover" cable which means the pinouts are different at each end. Just keep the end you cut off and make the new end like it.

You can get the shielded RJ-45 connector Garmin uses from their web site.
https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=1219

I just installed a new GMR-40 on my boat. They included an extra connector in the box with my radome.
Seacat FL is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread