Notices

DS500x Not finding bottom

Old 04-22-2007, 11:37 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,884
Default DS500x Not finding bottom

Well, I had the dealer install my DS500x and I just took the boat out yesterday and it doesn't seem to be working. I checked to make sure it connected in my driveway by having someone spin the speedwheel. I also put it in some cold water to see if the temp was working and it was. Is there anyway to test the sounder out of water or do i need to put it in the water to test it?
GravyBoat is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 09:25 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 724
Default Re: DS500x Not finding bottom

provided that it's no in a high noise enviroment, you should actually be able to hear a faint clicking/snapping noise froem the Xducer.

your best bet is to take it back to the dealer. He'll likely plug in a spare xducer, and hold it over the side to check
prodigalson is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 10:15 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Re: DS500x Not finding bottom

Does it work "at all"? For example is it working at rest at the dock, and not working when running?

If the above is the case, then the location it's mounted could be a problem. Put all settings on AUTO (gain, power..), and then get in about 10' of water. It should see bottom no problem.

Make sure your in water deeper than 3' also....
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 11:11 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,884
Default Re: DS500x Not finding bottom

Birdman - 4/23/2007 11:15 AM

Does it work "at all"? For example is it working at rest at the dock, and not working when running?

If the above is the case, then the location it's mounted could be a problem. Put all settings on AUTO (gain, power..), and then get in about 10' of water. It should see bottom no problem.

Make sure your in water deeper than 3' also....
No, its not working at all. It seems to be getting speed and temp readings, however nothing about depth. I stopped the boat a few times in different depths to see if it would find bottom, but it doesnt.
GravyBoat is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 04:14 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Re: DS500x Not finding bottom

I would try another ducer hangin off side.... if it works, then replace ducer. If it doesn't work, then send head unit to Ray service.
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 04:28 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,889
Default Re: DS500x Not finding bottom

I've seen funkier things ......

disconnetc the duecer from the back of the DS 500 and reconnect it.. Remember that duecer connection cap lock ringon the tranducer cable design is less than adequate. Sometimes the connector works loose because the ring lock doesn't lock into place because of its design. If that happens you still can get data from the ducer such as temp and speed.
bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 04:47 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,884
Default Re: DS500x Not finding bottom

bluewaterpirate - 4/23/2007 5:28 PM



I've seen funkier things ......

disconnetc the duecer from the back of the DS 500 and reconnect it.. Remember that duecer connection cap lock ring on the tranducer cable design is less than adequate. Sometimes the connector works loose because the ring lock doesn't lock into place because of its design. If that happens you still can get data from the ducer such as temp and speed.
Yep, I read that from you in another thread. So I did that first thing. However I wasn't able to take it back out on the water yet. I am going to listen for some clicking sounds. When you have seen the bad connection were you getting speed and temp readings? Or did you get no readings at all? Also When I have the "A-Scope" mode on I am seeing some data but not a steady amount.
GravyBoat is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 06:08 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 434
Default RE: DS500x Not finding bottom

Gravyboat,

Don't know alot about that unit. I know my Garmin unit defaults to auto gain, however if your unit doesn't default and the gain was turned up to 100% upon install that could be the problem. Just a thought.
tdau is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 08:42 PM
  #9  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: jacksonville, florida
Posts: 220
Default Re: DS500x Not finding bottom

My guess is the head unit, I had two go bad.
reelmagic is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 11:37 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,884
Default RE: DS500x Not finding bottom

I bumped up the Gain to 100% in my driveway. Its getting alot of data, so the ducer seems to be working. I will know for sure this weekend. It still may need to be sent back since it is fogging a bit.
GravyBoat is offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 07:49 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northeast Mass
Posts: 204
Default Re: DS500x Not finding bottom

Am I wrong or is it not good to run the transducer for any amount of time out of the water? I was told that by the dealer but never confirmed it with Raymarine.
Fishegg is offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 01:47 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Re: DS500x Not finding bottom

Fishegg - 4/25/2007 7:49 AM

Am I wrong or is it not good to run the transducer for any amount of time out of the water? I was told that by the dealer but never confirmed it with Raymarine.
It does not hurt the either the ducer or head unit in any way to use it out of water. It's simply an "antenna" sending sound waves out, and then listening for them to come back.
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 01:49 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RE: DS500x Not finding bottom

GravyBoat - 4/24/2007 11:37 PM

I bumped up the Gain to 100% in my driveway. Its getting alot of data, so the ducer seems to be working. I will know for sure this weekend. It still may need to be sent back since it is fogging a bit.
Gravy,
You didn't paint your transducer with regular bottom paint, did ya?? THAT would cause it to not work.
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 03:17 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,884
Default RE: DS500x Not finding bottom

Birdman - 4/25/2007 2:49 PM

GravyBoat - 4/24/2007 11:37 PM

I bumped up the Gain to 100% in my driveway. Its getting alot of data, so the ducer seems to be working. I will know for sure this weekend. It still may need to be sent back since it is fogging a bit.
Gravy,
You didn't paint your transducer with regular bottom paint, did ya?? THAT would cause it to not work.
LOL, no

Its Brand New on a Brand New boat. I think the gain was a little low when I went out. So I will let you know this weekend when I go out.
GravyBoat is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 05:31 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,884
Default RE: DS500x Not finding bottom

Well, I took it out today and it still didnt find bottom. I messed with the gain and the settings. I was getting some readings but nothing solid and no numbers came up. I guess I need to contact Raymarine.
GravyBoat is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 06:29 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,884
Default RE: DS500x Not finding bottom

Seems to be the ducer. Took the unit out of the boat today and brought it to a shop. They hooked it up to a different ducer and it was a night and day difference in what it was showing. They are ordering me a new ducer and putting it on this week.

GravyBoat is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 05:05 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Covington,LA
Posts: 115
Default Re: DS500x Not finding bottom

call raymarine
gofishdw is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread