Notices

LMF-400/I-Command and LGC-2000

Old 04-20-2007, 11:29 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mississippi Gulf Coast
Posts: 1,557
Default LMF-400/I-Command and LGC-2000

I have a LCX-104C that is NMEA 0183 and really can't justify the upgrade $$ to a NMEA2000 unit. I have 2 x I-command and 1 x LMF-400 for gauges and 2006 200hp E-TECS. My question is concerning MPG. I can read the GPH from each motor, the MPH from the Pitot speed, but can I use the Pitot speed for the MPG calculations? I've gone through the menus and the only choices are GROUND SPEED and WATER SPEED on the fuel efficiency page. I don't have the EP-50 yet as they are on back order last I checked (any one have updated info?), so I'm thinking that may be the reason I'm not getting MPG (?). Without a NMEA2000 head unit, can I use the LGC-2000 GPS as a MPH Ground Speed input for the NMEA2000? Thanks for any help offered. BTW, I'm really happy with the setup as I rigged it all myself with the MPG issue being the only thorn, and I'm sure that's user error. I've added the Bennet Trim Tab sensors and just need the dealer to get the motor trim calibrated. A definite DIY project.
RUDE Attitude is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 07:02 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bar Harbor, Maine
Posts: 2,629
Default Re: LMF-400/I-Command and LGC-2000

LGC2000 is just what you need to get proper MPG.
lakensea is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 08:27 PM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 84
Default Re: LMF-400/I-Command and LGC-2000

Make sure the LGC-2000 has the latest firmware since you will not be able to update
it without a head unit that holds MMC cards. The LGC-2000 that came with my
LMS-337C DF would not work because of firmware issues - and both came in
the same box! Shouldn't be hard to find someone on this forum to do the update
should you need one.

How to tell the firmware: connect it to a head unit in the store you purchase it
from, or someone else's head unit.

Mike
mikeporterinmd is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 12:36 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mississippi Gulf Coast
Posts: 1,557
Default Re: LMF-400/I-Command and LGC-2000

Great idea. Thanks. I'm actually purchasing an LGC-2000 from someone who has 2 head units/radar and the LGC-2000 is duplicate on their system, so I'll get him to check/upgrade before sending it to me.
RUDE Attitude is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 02:17 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 5,550
Default Re: LMF-400/I-Command and LGC-2000

That'll work w/ the lgc-2000. You can also order the ep-50 equivilant directly from Bombadier. They had them available before Lowrance for some reason.

I think you could also use the ep-25 speed sensor ($50) to calc. mpg (over-water). Nice thing about adding the lgc-2k though is you will have back-up gps coordinates from your lmf gauge.

That, or consider adding something like the globalmap 5300 or lms-5200 ($499/$599), and you will have a back-up head unit w/ GPS in your network (along w/ FF & Radar if you want).
kitebuz is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread