Notices

Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

Old 04-20-2007, 10:41 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 517
Default Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

Took my new rig out for a spin Wednesday and when I was running dead north the heading on my C80 shows the 180 degree opposite. I go into the compass setting menu and can see at the soft keys two compass setting choices. Both icons show dark and do not respond to inputs. This system was install by a Raymarine dealer and I can't believe they did not catch it. Help anyone.
son of a butcher is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 10:44 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 724
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

If you have an auto pilot, thats where the compass is set up. If not, you have an issue with the SHS. Hvae you tried contacting the dealer?
prodigalson is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 10:54 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 517
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

No auto pilot. The dealer is 2 hours away and is dragging their feet to help. Can I just unplug the compass for now. It is very easy to get disoriented. Do you think the compass is bad?
son of a butcher is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 11:07 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 724
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

the actual compass (fluxgate sensor- the little black golf ball sized thing) is super rugged- I'd suspect the SHS computer.

First thing that's likely is the wiring between the SHS and the C series- it's a little tricky, and the instructions (last I checked) were contradictory. The next thing is to make sure that there are no magnetic sources near that little Fluxgate Sensor- this includes wiring as well as any masses of metal.

I'd contact a local authorised Raymarine dealer. If it's the units, they will warrenty it- but if it was the dealer, you might have to chase them.

{edited to add}

Yes, you can just unplug the SHS- remove (from the SHS side) the 12v in(if present) AND the Seatalk connection.
prodigalson is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 01:49 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,417
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

You have to calibrate the SHS; did you do that?

Check the manual. I have a spare if you need one.
davepen is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 01:55 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 724
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

If he doesn't have an autopilot (or, now that I think of it, an ST60 or ST40 compass displayhead) and the soft keys aren't active in the Cseries compass setup menu, he can't do the calibration.
prodigalson is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 04:44 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oceanside, Calif.
Posts: 147
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

Even If you have an ST40 or ST60 compass with display, you can not use the C-80 to calibrate. You have to linerize the compass, or calibrate it manually with the compass display against a known heading. If you do not have an auto pilot or the display for the compass there is no way it can be calibrated. The compass is not a stand alone unit.

Maybe too obvious a question but is the flat part of the compass head mounted towrds the stern? I would hesitate to say that all Raymarine installers are created equal.
claymar is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 04:50 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 724
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

yes, The out of the box orientation is flat pat towards the stern, but it can be mounted in any position, as the heading can be offset up to 180 (360?) degrees.
prodigalson is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 07:34 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 517
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

Thanks. I think I will pull the pull the seatalk conection until the dealer get moving on it. They need to get moving after what I paid them. I don't want to have to drop the name here.
son of a butcher is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 07:44 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oceanside, Calif.
Posts: 147
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

probably correct, quess a circle is a circle. I'm assuming that linerazation takes care of that issue. I've had two of this things and both were off to the tune of 40 and 60 degrees out of the box and they both swung in and worked great.
claymar is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 07:56 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

also remember that you can't power the SHS box off of SeaTalk. it has a dedicated power feed that MUST be hooked up.
SeaSwirler23 is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 08:02 PM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 27
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

You cannot calibrate or linearize the compass unless it is connected & if the compass setting section does not "see" a compass then it is not connected. (mis-wired - unwired - faulty crimp connection?)
adios1 is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 02:15 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 517
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

adios,

It must be sharing some data. Why the wrong heading then?
son of a butcher is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 05:00 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

which of the LEd lights on the terminal strip of the smart heading box (the grey box that the compass is fed to that in turn needs to be wired to the C80 via both NMEA and SeaTalk). There also needs to be the power feed wired into the box, as the SeaTalk will not power the box. Righht now if you can't linearize the compass, the SHS box is either not wired properly or it is bad.
SeaSwirler23 is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 08:58 PM
  #15  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 27
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

Don’t know.

All I said was that if when in ‘compass adjust’ menu you cannot access the function it means that the unit does not sense a compass.

While underway the unit will get heading info from your GPS receiver not your compass. The compass & heading sensor provide accurate & timely info for MARPA & AIS functions & will also provide directional info while the vessel is at rest. A properly installed GPS receiver should provide accurate heading data even if you have no compass installed (same as your hand held unit or the unit in you car or truck.)

As I noted, something is either mis-wired or un-connected.

Try an email to Raymarine tech & include all of your gear (pilots,etc) & their model #’s. Rigging does vary with different Ray pilots.

Good luck


adios1 is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 11:44 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

If a Raymarine unit "sees" heading data on either Seatalk or NMEA, it will ignore the GPS' COG data, no mater how inaccurate that heading data might be, heading will always trump COG, when determining boat orientation, MARPA, overlay, etc.
SeaSwirler23 is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 09:38 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 517
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

Thanks everybody
son of a butcher is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 12:02 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oceanside, Calif.
Posts: 147
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

Was wondering when this thread was finally going to give it up.

son of a butcher, hope your boat knows which way its going now.
claymar is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 06:59 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 517
Default Re: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

SHS wired wrong. Now we are in ship shape.
son of a butcher is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 07:11 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Marysville, PA USA
Posts: 302
Default RE: Raymarine C80 with Smartheading sensor

The compass and the module both need to be facing the same direction. I would bet one is facing the bow and the other is facing the stern. You can correct this by changing a setting.
Its described in your owners manual.
Never - Satisfied is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread