Notices

Garmin GPS MAP76

Old 04-17-2007, 10:33 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 283
Default Garmin GPS MAP76

Anyone have any experience with this? Is it possible to transfer waypoints from another Garmin GPS?
BigGreenZ_71 is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 10:41 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 724
Default Re: Garmin GPS MAP76

Yes- you have to cross connect the data cable wiring (unit one in to unit two out, two in to one out), put it in garmin/garmin mode, and send em right across...
prodigalson is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 10:46 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 283
Default RE: Garmin GPS MAP76

We've got either like a 2006 chartplotter from Garmin that was one of the higher end, how will it compare for accuracy and such?
BigGreenZ_71 is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 10:47 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 724
Default Re: Garmin GPS MAP76

I don't understand what you are asking
prodigalson is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 11:03 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 283
Default Re: Garmin GPS MAP76

I guess what im asking is how close to the waypoint will the map76 get you? I plan to use it bottomfishing so i need it to be fairly accurate to get right on top of the fish.
BigGreenZ_71 is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 02:24 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location:
Posts: 2
Default RE: Garmin GPS MAP76

I think reading reviews - both expert and user - might help in answering your query. I found this site, (SmartRatings), that has both of it. I hope it helps.
simien60 is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 07:33 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 724
Default Re: Garmin GPS MAP76

Oh- the new unit should put you right back on the spot.
prodigalson is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 09:02 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 5,419
Default Re: Garmin GPS MAP76

i use a gpsmap 76 as a backup. technically, the gpsmap 76 will be as accurate as the 2006. the practical difference is in the antenna...the 2006 antenna is remote and probably mounted high with a perfect view of the sky, where the handheld is much more prone to obstruction, which can decrease the accuracy. bottom line is that if the handheld has an unobstructed view of the sky then it will be as accurate as any other gps, but getting that unobstructed view isn't always practical.
chainsaw42 is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 06:19 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl.
Posts: 7,371
Default Re: Garmin GPS MAP76

It will be just as acurate. The only problem is seeing the screen. I have a 76CS as a backup. I cerently would not want to be staring at that small Black & White screen for serious bottom fishing.
warthog5 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread