Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

Notices

CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

Old 04-16-2007, 10:43 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 822
Default CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

I need some advice on finding birds with 4 kw open array. If it can that is. If you have one and know, how far can u see the birds info would be great. Also the ajustments would be nice.
JESSEAJAMES is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 06:19 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Pt. Pleasent NJ.
Posts: 493
Default Re: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

get good IS binoculars you'll see farther
TerryS is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 06:46 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,919
Default Re: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

Try setting the range at 4-6 miles, turn off the anti sea clutter (STC), turn up the gain as high as 90% until the screen is slightly peppered with noise. Once the noise apears, activate the STC just enough to remove the clutter around the boat. If the echo return is noticeable, it could be birds moving across the screen chasing fish.
ltcavery is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 12:04 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: orlando madbeach, fl
Posts: 8,424
Default Re: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

We were able to find them easily with that unit on a factory demo boat last year in the Abacos. Seas kicked up to 3-4' and made it more difficult at closer range. It will also help if you can get someone on the boat that is knowledgable with tracking birds. You may be seeing them and not recognizing them as birds. Oh, and keep your fingers off the screen! Use a pencil or other type of pointer to point out consistant returns. This was a constant problem with the "newbies" on the boat.
signmansez is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 12:31 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 11,007
Default Re: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

Your best bet will be a 4 foot open array--resolution and power are both important in finding birds.
thataway is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 04:02 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 822
Default Re: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

Yes i have a 4 foot open array, thanks for info guys and good luck this year!
JESSEAJAMES is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 04:05 PM
  #7  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 18
Default Re: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

go to the furuno website. they tell you how to adjust to get the birds good luck
captkenn is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 06:01 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 822
Default Re: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

Thanks for advice, i seen the furuno site that ure talking about, hopefully it would be similar ajustments.
JESSEAJAMES is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 11:42 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: chicago area
Posts: 178
Default Re: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

30 miles off shore in pea soup and one goose coming in fast from the starboard quarter at the same height as my 4' open array. I saw at on radar and got the hell scared out of me. I don't care if I never see another bird on radar!
sokolj is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 04:51 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 181
Default Re: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

I used this setup for 4 years and we run out of PC and caught alot of YFT. Set it as satated aboe but you need to use the expand feature #2. This is the key to the unit It works best in the 3-6nm range.
"C" Quest is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 02:17 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 822
Default Re: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

Thanks for info guys
JESSEAJAMES is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 10:05 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Long Island , New York 2
Posts: 3,822
Default RE: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

JESSEAJAMES - 4/16/2007 9:43 PM

I need some advice on finding birds with 4 kw open array. If it can that is. If you have one and know, how far can u see the birds info would be great. Also the ajustments would be nice.
JesseaJames,

I have used my radar short range very successfully to find birds and keep us on the fish when we were completely fogged in. It's amazing what you can do with radar. I saw all the boats, buoys, and birds. I followed the birds and had one of my better trips of the season in a 10 foot visibility fog!!!

Here is what I do to find em long range. Haven't perfected it but I am pretty decent up to 3 miles away. I got the following hint from Furuno.

"To target the birds, set the radar to mid or long range. Next, increase the gain control until you se noise on the display. This will appear as a blanket of small specks. You will need to leave the Gain turned all the way up, thus setting the receiver fore maximum sensitivity in order to detect birds. Resist the temptation to turn up the AC/Sea or AC/rain to drop out the noise. Flocks of birds may look like dense, recurring noise rather than a solid target, but you should be able to see them clearly. This is what you will be looking for when you don't have a visual cue as to where the birds are feeding.

If your radar is capable of operating in true motion, then chose this mode. You will be stabilizing the display, and you will be able to tell if the flock is traveling in a straight line looking for bait pods or if they have found their target school and are feeding.

When operating in head u p or true motion, be sure to turn on your target trail function and set is to f long trails to help track traveling flocks."


Good Luck.

You will really have to learn all the features of the radar to get good at it. Things like trailing are difficult but it works really good.

LooneyTunes
Dave
looneytunes is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 10:17 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 822
Default Re: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

From the looks, it looks like u have a dome. If you see bird on it, i think i should, like u said learn how to opperate this unit. I have a 4 kw oppen array that has a pretty narrow beam of 1.8 i was just wondering how far it can really detect birds. I had furuno on my grady, but when i purchaced my new 28 parker i wanted to go with raymarine. How do u like yours?
JESSEAJAMES is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 11:03 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Long Island , New York 2
Posts: 3,822
Default Re: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

I like my Raymarine RL70CRC Plus. My expectations for radar were not high. I just wanted it for navigational purposes, but I learned about the bird thing when fishing in the fog by accident. Since then, I have been trying to learn my unit inside out. Here I am a year later and know the unit only pretty good. I bet I could get birds a couple of miles further with some practice. It's a PITA to muck with the radar when you are fishing. So most of my learning is done off shore.

Have fun. Try to bring the boat home and work right from the manual. I guarantee, it will take you at least 5 straight hours to learn the basic functions. Then learning how to make the functions work with eachother is another game. I am beginning to like the radar over c-map chart overlay. You gain some functionality and you also lose some. Kind of wierd.

Looneytunes
Dave
looneytunes is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 11:32 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 822
Default Re: CAN I FIND BIRDS WITH RAYMARINE 4 KW OPEN ARRAY RADAR

Yea its going to take a while im shure. But i heard ray was real easy to learn, that is another reason for buying.
JESSEAJAMES is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread