Notices

Grounding Furuno 1623 display unit

Old 04-16-2007, 04:27 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 106
Default Grounding Furuno 1623 display unit

I have a Furuno 1623 radar installed, and noticed they want you to ground the display unit to somewhere on the hull. The unit has a wing nut for the ground wire, but i do not think i have anywhere to ground it on the hull. Would it be alright not having it grounded? thanks
Angler2184 is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 05:12 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 3,949
Default Re: Grounding Furuno 1623 display unit

You have plenty of places to ground it........................Anything continuous with the negative side of your battery.........
offshorebri is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 06:00 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 106
Default Re: Grounding Furuno 1623 display unit

alright, so i can ground this to the negative side of my panel?
Angler2184 is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 06:21 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Angier NC
Posts: 443
Default Re: Grounding Furuno 1623 display unit

Don't worry about it. Not necessary on your boat.

Ray
rhartjr is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 07:02 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 3,949
Default Re: Grounding Furuno 1623 display unit

Yes you can but it really isn't necessary...............
offshorebri is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread