Notices

Question to Rag Bagger and/or Duct Tape

Old 04-15-2007, 11:16 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Media, PA and Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 1,039
Default Question to Rag Bagger and/or Duct Tape

You guys helped me last week figuring out a Furuno networking question. After taking a looksy around the helm area and mounting the unit this weekend, I have a small change in plans. The units are a 600L sounder and a GP7000 Chartplotter, which was black to green, white to yellow.....Logistically, it is going to make more sense for me to interconnect the 600L Sounder to my Furuno GP-37 (which has blue, green, white and yellow neatly bundled under the helm and unused). I'll be plugging the NMEA 6-Pin into the 600L sounder and have those 4 color coded wires (green, yellow, white and black). I have the manual for the GP-37 but can't get my camera to take a small enough photo to post the interconnection diagram.
TimC2520 is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 12:13 PM
  #2  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 13
Default Re: Question to Rag Bagger and/or Duct Tape

For the GP-37 you'll only need to connect two wires since it doesn't receive data from the 600L, only sends data to it. Connect GP37 White to 600L Yellow, and GP37 Blue to 600L Green. If you check your interconnection diagram on the 37, white is TD-H and Blue is TD-C which correspond to RD-H and RD-C on the 600L. Only problem in figuring that out is that the 600L manual (at least the copy on-line at Furuno) doesn't show colors, only pin numbers for the connector. The 6-pin NMEA cable has pin 1 to white, pin 2 to black, pin 3 to yellow, pin 4 to green, pin 5 not used, pin 6 is shield.

In the setup menu, make sure if the GP37 is outputting NMEA-2 that the 600L is also set up for that format (the alternate is NMEA-1.5).
ragbagger is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 12:29 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Media, PA and Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Question to Rag Bagger and/or Duct Tape

GPS White to 600L Yellow
GPS Blue to 600L Green
Then setup menus appropriately...sounds simple enough...
Thanks for all your help, Duct Tape included. If you guys are ever going to be down my way, give me a shout, I'll buy you
an ice cold beverage of your choice..........
TimC2520 is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 08:15 PM
  #4  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Default Re: Question to Rag Bagger and/or Duct Tape

wow, someone got to a nmea question before i did

i cant take credit for the correct answer, but i never pass up free stuff.

holgate, nj isnt that far away from the viking yacht plant is it?
Duct Tape is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 05:00 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Media, PA and Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Question to Rag Bagger and/or Duct Tape

No it's not far at all Duct and the offer is for you also but I just stumbled upon another question....Grrrrrrrrrr
The in-line fuse is 3 Amp....But the manual doesn't say what size fuse to put in the fuse panel....Should I assume a 3 Amp also?
TimC2520 is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 07:34 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 724
Default Re: Question to Rag Bagger and/or Duct Tape

if you mean that you are wiring the inline fuse to a panel mounted fuse, what you should do is cut off the inline fuse, and go right to the panel fuse with the lead. Double fusing just creates another potential point of failure, and the inlines are a little flkey to begin with.
prodigalson is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 07:51 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Media, PA and Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Question to Rag Bagger and/or Duct Tape

Prodigal, all my electronics (vhf, gps and sounder all have in-lines as well as panel mounted fuses) and have been fine for 8 seasons now but I see your point about another point of potential failure... Would you stick a 3 Amp in the panel mounted fuse ?
TimC2520 is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 08:00 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 724
Default Re: Question to Rag Bagger and/or Duct Tape

Yep. I usually use the one from the inline that I cut away, and just pop it in the panel, if it's the right type.
prodigalson is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread