Notices

Question on Navionics CF Charts

Old 04-12-2007, 11:20 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston Harbor
Posts: 124
Default Question on Navionics CF Charts

Has anyone plugged these into their own computer?
I have a XT gold chip and another high detail card and I would like to
copy part of the nav card and the HD card data onto another card.
That way I don't have to switch cards when I want the HD one working.

Of course Navioics says don't try to backup or copy the card as it may become damaged.
But comon !! We all use CF cards, SD cards, memory sticks and the like in cameras and other devices moving data back and forth as needed with no issues.

So what do you thnk?
vanc is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 11:45 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: WPB, Florida
Posts: 346
Default Re: Question on Navionics CF Charts

Won't work, they have their own format on the card that won't transfer.
Grumpy Finn is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 10:40 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 398
Default RE: Question on Navionics CF Charts

vanc - 4/12/2007 11:20 AM

We all use CF cards, SD cards, memory sticks and the like in cameras and other devices moving data back and forth as needed with no issues.

So what do you thnk?
Yes, but we use Windows based programs provided by the manufacturer (camera or whatever) on our PC to read the data files on the chips. Do you have a Windows based program that can read Navionics files from a compact flash card? If you can get a directory of the files and copy them to the hard drive on your PC, you could probably transfer them to another chip, but I don't know which program will do that. If it were that easy, who'd pay the money for a Platinum chip?
Sea Six is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 11:22 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oceanside, Calif.
Posts: 147
Default Re: Question on Navionics CF Charts

It is my understanding that the data on the Navionics cards is encrypted to prevent copy's from being made, similar to a lot of game and windows software disc.

Have not tried to make Navionics copies but I have tried to copy a disc from Mirosoft Flight Sim, similar encryption, and it cant be done, at least not with my computer skills.
claymar is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 09:20 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston Harbor
Posts: 124
Default Re: Question on Navionics CF Charts

Yea I am in agreement. They would not make it easy to copy their card, because then anyone could give/sell copies at will. I emailed a question to navionics to see if for a "nominal fee" they could make me a card with the HD and NAV portions of the cards I have and put them on a separate one. The whole purpose here is that I don't want to have to open the water proof door, fumble with little cards trying to switch them at sea. Plus the way my CP is mounted I have to loosen the it from the bracket to access the door. I am waiting for a response from them.

Thanks for the input.

Another thought...
Does anyone use the PC software that can read these cards. What I understand is it lets you see your charts on your PC, then plot courses, add waypoints etc. and copy them onto the card, then onto the plotter if desired.
vanc is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 09:40 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,919
Default Re: Question on Navionics CF Charts

vanc - 4/13/2007 8:20 AM

Another thought...
Does anyone use the PC software that can read these cards. What I understand is it lets you see your charts on your PC, then plot courses, add waypoints etc. and copy them onto the card, then onto the plotter if desired.
The Navionics Navplanner let's you do this. I have the latest version and it's not bad. They fixed a lot of the bugs in the first version. By putting your navionics card into the card reader, you get the same charts on your PC that you get on your chartplotter.

ltcavery is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 05:47 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston Harbor
Posts: 124
Default Re: Question on Navionics CF Charts

ltcavery - 4/13/2007 9:40 AM



vanc - 4/13/2007 8:20 AM

Another thought...
Does anyone use the PC software that can read these cards. What I understand is it lets you see your charts on your PC, then plot courses, add waypoints etc. and copy them onto the card, then onto the plotter if desired.
The Navionics Navplanner let's you do this. I have the latest version and it's not bad. They fixed a lot of the bugs in the first version. By putting your navionics card into the card reader, you get the same charts on your PC that you get on your chartplotter. />
Where can I buy that software?
vanc is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 05:55 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,919
Default Re: Question on Navionics CF Charts

BOE Marine of course.

http://www.byownerelectronics.com/st...7&cat=0&page=1
ltcavery is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread