Notices

Furuno Networking Question

Old 04-11-2007, 07:29 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Media, PA and Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 982
Default Furuno Networking Question

Good evening,

I have a Furuno 600L sounder and just recently purchased a Furuno GP7000 Chartplotter. I have a 6 Pin NMEA cable with the intention of setting it up to view the data from the GP7000 on the 600L which is an option on the menu of the 600L. I'm no pro, in fact, I've never done this before...and mistakenly assumed the networking cable would have a connector on each end, plug one into the other and viola....paydirt...Of course, it never happens that way in real life....
The connector has a fitting on one end and bare wires on the other.......Enlighten me please.....I want to learn. I won't be able to install this for about 2 weeks so I am just doing my homework now....Thanks in advance...

Tim

TimC2520 is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 09:08 PM
  #2  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 13
Default RE: Furuno Networking Question

Furuno does make a NMEA crossover cable with the needed 6 pin female connectors on both ends. I'll stick my neck out and say that the part number is 000-134-424, but PLEASE call the tech support folks at 360-834-9300 (ask for tech support), tell them what you need to do, and verify that before you order. I believe it's a 5 meter cable.

Or, if you have two of the single-connector/bare wire cables, you can connect the bare ends. Connect white to black, yellow to green, shield to shield.
ragbagger is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 12:56 AM
  #3  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Default Re: Furuno Networking Question

just to clarify.

you would connect white to yellow, black to green the shield doesnt need to be connected.
Duct Tape is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 01:45 AM
  #4  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 13
Default RE: Furuno Networking Question

Thanks, Duct, you're of course correct, I had a mommentary stupid attack or sumpin'.
Probably shud leave this stuff to you pros.

ragbagger is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 01:49 AM
  #5  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Default Re: Furuno Networking Question

it looked correct the first time i read it, if that makes you feel any better
Duct Tape is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 06:29 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Media, PA and Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 982
Default Re: Furuno Networking Question

Thanks fellas, I actually have two cables, I ordered one separate with the GP7000, not knowing one comes in the box so I have two. Each has a connector on one end, bare wires on the other. I haven't stripped the bare ends yet, but looks like there are 4 wires, white, black, green and yellow....
Soooo, each unit gets a plug, then connect white to yellow, black to green? GP7000 white to 600L yellow or vice versa such as GP7000 yellow to 600L white? Which unit's black gets the other unit's green? Sorry for so many questions guys but thanks again....

Tim

TimC2520 is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 06:59 AM
  #7  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 13
Default RE: Furuno Networking Question

OK, with two cables like that you're in business.

In the installation manual's interconnection diagrams, Furuno designates White as TD-A and Black as TD-B, Yellow as RD-A and Green as RD-B (TD is Transmitted Data or NMEA-Out, RD is Received Data or NMEA-In.) You want the TD A&B of the GP7000 connected to the RD A&B of the 600L, AND the RD A&B of the GP7000 to the TD of the 600L.

So you connect the White wire from each unit to the Yellow wire of the other one, and the Black wire from each unit to its opposite Green wire. All 4 wires are connected, as Duct says, white to yellow and black to green.

ragbagger is offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 10:00 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Media, PA and Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 982
Default Re: Furuno Networking Question

Thanks Rags and Duct....you da men!
Now if the weather will give me a break, I'll paint the bottom, splash it and get to work on this install!
TimC2520 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread