Notices

Airmar transducers

Old 12-17-2003, 11:31 AM
  #1  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mobile,AL
Posts: 40
Default Airmar transducers

I just purchased the Garmin 240 Blue, I was surprised it came with an Airmar transducer(P-66,transom mount)Does Garmin not make they're own transducers? How does the Airmar compare to the rest?

"Many men go fishing all of their lives without knowing that it is not fish they are after"
bama1992 is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 11:49 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Airmar transducers

I believe that Airmar is the maker of transducers for all of them except SiTex, Lowrance, and a little company out of California called MarineTek. Lowrance makes its own and the other two are using ones made by a company called Acoustic Techniques or something like that, from near Los Angeles if I remember correctly.

I did think Garmin was stamping their own name on them though. Maybe not.

Thom

A Wise Man Once Said: "That's EXACTLY why I try NOT to read manuals, I start trying all sorts of stupid things and wasting all sorts of time when I read manuals. Half the time I try doing things just because I read some retarded blurb about it in the manual fully realizing I would NEVER use such a thing, but because the manual stated it could do it, I have to try it!!!"
Thom is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 11:56 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Boynton Beach Fl (Pursuit
Posts: 5,541
Default Airmar transducers

Even Raymarine(raytheon) uses Airmar!
KevinM is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 12:24 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
PLEDGER
 
HOTSPOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 13,395
Default Airmar transducers

Bama192,

I have that exact unit, you will like it.



Support THT and become a Captain's Club Member

HOT SPOT <'})))><<

Sea Pro SV2300 Yamaha F200
Ford F250 SD 4DR 4WD PowerStroke
HOTSPOT is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 04:55 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,004
Default Airmar transducers

The commercial Simrad 'ducers are made in-house

28' Maxcat w/twin Honda 225's
Chaps is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 06:30 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,406
Default Airmar transducers

Kevin,

Raymarine is not Raytheon. Used to be, but it is now a separate company based in the UK I believe.

Harry

Harry Brosofsky is offline  
Old 12-17-2003, 08:38 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Boynton Beach Fl (Pursuit
Posts: 5,541
Default Airmar transducers

Harry Brosofsky thats why I put Raytheon in brackets.
KevinM is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread