Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

Old 03-27-2007, 08:06 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: marysville wa
Posts: 1,033
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

i have a new lowarance 2000 and i am installing a new rim today and was woundering if it will cause damage to the radar using it on land next to the house . or should i wait to see if it works on water ,. i tryed it once and the rim went out , does it matter ?
Old 03-27-2007, 08:23 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 717
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

It shouldn't cause any issues, provided you don't leave it on for hours...
Old 03-27-2007, 09:47 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sandwich, Ma. Cape Cod
Posts: 1,282
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

When I put myFuruno back on the boat. I turn it on for a few minutes and have never had a problem.
Old 03-27-2007, 09:57 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 409
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

prodigalson - suprised to here you say that (...provided you don't leave it on for hours...), what do you think it will hurt and what do you think is the difference?

lugger - from an electrical engineer perspective, there is NO difference. Leave it on for hours if you want. Heck when you go out for the day is your radar on? How long are you out for, 12hrs? same thing. A decent radar should have a MTBF in the 1000s of hours, like 10,000+. Actually your radar would last longer if you ran it on land all the time and did not have it on the boat as on land it does not have to deal with the vibration and shock it suffers on your boat.
Old 03-27-2007, 10:06 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 722
Likes: 0
Received 113 Likes on 47 Posts
Default Re: does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

parnine - 3/27/2007 9:57 PM

prodigalson - suprised to here you say that (...provided you don't leave it on for hours...), what do you think it will hurt and what do you think is the difference?

lugger - from an electrical engineer perspective, there is NO difference. Leave it on for hours if you want. Heck when you go out for the day is your radar on? How long are you out for, 12hrs? same thing. A decent radar should have a MTBF in the 1000s of hours, like 10,000+. Actually your radar would last longer if you ran it on land all the time and did not have it on the boat as on land it does not have to deal with the vibration and shock it suffers on your boat.
Agreed. I would be more concerned about RF exposure from the reflections off of your house. Take the thing to an open, empty parking lot.

Mike
Old 03-27-2007, 10:12 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: On the wild side !!
Posts: 5,711
Received 52 Likes on 31 Posts
Default Re: does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

parnine - 3/27/2007 9:57 PM

prodigalson - suprised to here you say that (...provided you don't leave it on for hours...), what do you think it will hurt and what do you think is the difference?

lugger - from an electrical engineer perspective, there is NO difference. Leave it on for hours if you want. Heck when you go out for the day is your radar on? How long are you out for, 12hrs? same thing. A decent radar should have a MTBF in the 1000s of hours, like 10,000+. Actually your radar would last longer if you ran it on land all the time and did not have it on the boat as on land it does not have to deal with the vibration and shock it suffers on your boat.
Any harm in testing a new installation while the boat is inside a metal farm building?
Old 03-28-2007, 07:44 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 717
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

parnine - 3/27/2007 9:57 PM

prodigalson - suprised to here you say that (...provided you don't leave it on for hours...), what do you think it will hurt and what do you think is the difference?
Well, I was mostly thinking of when we run them in the shed at the shop, when our working theory is that the reflected energy isn't good for anything- including my co- workers.

Of course, that is a metal shed, and fully enclosed.
Old 03-28-2007, 08:10 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hemet, CA
Posts: 1,044
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

Inside a metal shed? Kinda like being inside a microwave oven with the power on!!
Old 03-28-2007, 09:30 AM
  #9  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

do not test radars inside of any building, unless you just want to see if the motor spins, then shut it off quickly.
Old 03-28-2007, 12:56 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 722
Likes: 0
Received 113 Likes on 47 Posts
Default Re: does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

njmello - 3/28/2007 8:10 AM

Inside a metal shed? Kinda like being inside a microwave oven with the power on!!
A small exaggeration, but essentially correct. Baaaad idea.

Mike
Old 03-28-2007, 01:02 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

peptide - 3/28/2007 11:56 AM

njmello - 3/28/2007 8:10 AM

Inside a metal shed? Kinda like being inside a microwave oven with the power on!!
A small exaggeration, but essentially correct. Baaaad idea.

Mike
Just make sure you turn around every once in a while to make sure you're cooked all the way through...

Old 03-28-2007, 01:13 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 722
Likes: 0
Received 113 Likes on 47 Posts
Default Re: does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

davepen - 3/28/2007 1:02 PM

peptide - 3/28/2007 11:56 AM

njmello - 3/28/2007 8:10 AM

Inside a metal shed? Kinda like being inside a microwave oven with the power on!!
A small exaggeration, but essentially correct. Baaaad idea.

Mike
Just make sure you turn around every once in a while to make sure you're cooked all the way through...
Or at least consider -



Mike
Old 03-28-2007, 02:53 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: East Central Florida
Posts: 7,381
Received 700 Likes on 332 Posts
Default Re: does it damage to run radar on land to test ?

peptide - 3/28/2007 1:13 PM

davepen - 3/28/2007 1:02 PM

peptide - 3/28/2007 11:56 AM

njmello - 3/28/2007 8:10 AM

Inside a metal shed? Kinda like being inside a microwave oven with the power on!!
A small exaggeration, but essentially correct. Baaaad idea.

Mike
Just make sure you turn around every once in a while to make sure you're cooked all the way through...
Or at least consider -



Mike
Those aluminum foil hats arren't all they are cracked up to be. See:
http://people.csail.mit.edu/rahimi/helmet/

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.