Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Do I really need a fixed mount VHF?

Old 03-27-2007, 07:19 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hope, RI
Posts: 190
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I really need a fixed mount VHF?

I've always had fixed mount and never used a hand held VHF but with this boat (23' CC) we will be boating only on Narragansett Bay and out to Block Island. The thought has occured to me to just buy a very good hand held and drop it in a drink holder . Think I could be happy with that?
john gov.
Old 03-27-2007, 07:37 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,905
Received 79 Likes on 47 Posts
Default Re: Do I really need a fixed mount VHF?

Yes-fixed mount
Old 03-27-2007, 08:02 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Narragansett Bay RI
Posts: 1,039
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Do I really need a fixed mount VHF?

At 5 watts, a very good handheld does not compare to an average 25 watt fixed.
Old 03-27-2007, 08:26 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chatham Mass
Posts: 588
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Do I really need a fixed mount VHF?

Get both. The 5 watt will be great if you fry some wires and have no power
Old 03-27-2007, 08:47 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 717
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Do I really need a fixed mount VHF?

Both- if you use the HH as your primary, eventually it will fall overboard, likely right when you need it most.
Old 03-27-2007, 10:57 PM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do I really need a fixed mount VHF?

Both - with a good antenna. If you have a GPS, connect it to the radio so the
DSC distress call works. Could save your life. If you do not know what
I'm talking about, just ask! I'm sure someone will fill you in before I
get back to this board.

Mike
Old 03-27-2007, 11:46 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 398
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Do I really need a fixed mount VHF?

I think the hand-hled ICOM M34 would be enough, and if you drop it overboard - it floats.
Old 03-28-2007, 07:13 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Knoxville,TN
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Do I really need a fixed mount VHF?

If you have a cellphone and it will always be in range, then the handheld will suffice. Is it optimum? No, but that's not what you asked.
Old 03-28-2007, 07:44 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,905
Received 79 Likes on 47 Posts
Default Re: Do I really need a fixed mount VHF?

OK, something else to consider. I think if you talk to anyone who has been in an emergency situation, they will say that every second counts. In an emergency, your vhf is a critical tool. I feel much more comfortable that my fixed mount vhf will always be in the same place and I can show everyone on board where it is, and where it will be in the future. No one can move it somewhere because they wanted to use it's cradle for another use-in your case the intended use of putting a drink in it. This avoids the chinese drill of trying to locate it in an emergency. Cell phones are a good backup, but again, I'm always looking for it.

One final note, I feel that the risk of me forgetting to charge the vhf or cellphone is greater than the risk of my fixed vhf wiring not functioning properly.
Old 03-29-2007, 11:11 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hope, RI
Posts: 190
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do I really need a fixed mount VHF?

Hey Thanks! some good thoughts here. Glad you guys didn't let me go lazy.
john gov.
Old 03-31-2007, 10:53 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hope, RI
Posts: 190
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do I really need a fixed mount VHF?

Glad I listened to you guys. I mounted a four foot Galaxy on the T-top with a stainless steel ratchet mount and flush mounted the Icom in the console. Allowed me to go out and buy the Dremel tool that I have wanted for years.
Still not sure about my final antenna connection though. Guess I'll have to get the handheld and go talk to myself.
john gov.
Old 03-31-2007, 11:10 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,412
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
Default RE: Do I really need a fixed mount VHF?

..

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.