Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Using two fish finders?

Old 03-25-2007, 11:06 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,266
Received 1,759 Likes on 1,082 Posts
Default Using two fish finders?

We are currently looking at Chartplotters and are wondering if we even need a fish finder. We currently run a Furuno 585L(might have the numbers mixed up but it is nice). Does anyone use two fishfinders? One for reading the bottom and one for reading the water columns? We looked at a Raymarine c120 yesterday and the black box for the fishfinder was priced seperately at 1k putting the machine at 3400. That didn't include a tru-hull tranducer.
Old 03-25-2007, 12:21 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brandon, Florida
Posts: 2,118
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Using two fish finders?

I have two fishfinders but the second is just as a backup in case the first blows up it won't ruin the fishing trip.
Old 03-25-2007, 12:44 PM
  #3  
KJS
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where I go, there I am
Posts: 16,862
Received 962 Likes on 516 Posts
Default Re: Using two fish finders?

I run two. One on the upper deck (Garmin) and one on the lower (Raymarine).
Old 03-25-2007, 01:38 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Using two fish finders?

YES-

it is unclear what you are after, but to run two fishfinders at once you are going to need different frequencies. Your Furuno 585/582 will be running at the standard 50 and/or 200 kHz. To run a second machine at the same time without interference, you will have to look for one that uses something else - not many around.

Not sure I understand your 1 for the bottom, and 1 for the water column. Any fishfinder is going to do both. I do use a Furuno 235 kHz RD-30 system which is strictly for depth measurements in shallower water (< 100 meter) at the same time as my two FF's, if that is what you mean.

For my small freshwater (great lakes area) walleye boat I use:
Furuno Navnet black box FF (600 or 1 kW) - - 50/200 kHz
Sitex AVS-107 (or CVS-106) older machine - - 120 kHz
Furuno RD-30 depth - - 235 kHz

For my Pursuit CC ocean boat I use:
Furuno Navnet BBFF1 with M260 (1 kW) - - 50/200 kHz
Furuno BBFF3 (or FCV-1100) with Furuno commercial transducers (2,3 kW) - - 28 / 88 kHz
Furuno RD-30 depth - - 235 kHz

All these run at the same time. It is very enlightening to see what is down there at all these frequencies.
Old 03-25-2007, 01:41 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,266
Received 1,759 Likes on 1,082 Posts
Default RE: Using two fish finders?

ginmills,
We will be using one more than two most likely, but I just wanted to know if anyone used two. Thanks for the input.
Old 03-26-2007, 05:56 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Using two fish finders?

Using two units at the same time,you will have to select what hz they are running at or they will give each other bad readings.If you go into each unit.You can select 50 or 200hz.Why would you need to do that?Any good unit will track bottom and the water column at the same time.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.