Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Raymarine c120 - Sounder not reading depths right

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine c120 - Sounder not reading depths right

Old 03-25-2007, 09:25 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Walstonburg/Morehead City, North Carolina
Posts: 207
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Raymarine c120 - Sounder not reading depths right

I have a Ray C120, a DSM 300, and 1KW shoot through transducer. First time out since winter and I noticed that it wasn't accurately reading depths. The only thing scrolling across the screen were jagged lines from the top of the sceen to the bottom and temperature readings were way off On the bottom left corner of the screen where the depths come up all I got was the little lines as if it was not finding the bottom. I have a seperate temp. sensor and it seemed to be right on the money. Anyone have any ideas as to what it could be? Is my sounder bad or is it maybe the transducer?
Old 03-25-2007, 10:15 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southeast Florida
Posts: 1,033
Received 24 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Raymarine c120 - Sounder not reading depths right

Check to be sure there is fluid in the transducer tub. Mine leaked out and I got the same symptoms on the screen you are seeing.
Old 03-25-2007, 12:28 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,944
Likes: 0
Received 52 Likes on 31 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine c120 - Sounder not reading depths right

Chris, have the same setup. Cowdogs is right. My mineral oil started leaking and when it gets below the transducer, it stops working. It leaks so slow over time, that it works sometimes, then goes out, then works again. I had my dealer seal it all back up and they filled it again with mineral oil. Since then, airmar is now saying don't use mineral oil, it degrades the sealant over time. They now say to fill it with non-toxic antifreeze so that is what is in mine now and no problems for 4 months.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.