Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Can I use a VHF radio antenna for my TV?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Can I use a VHF radio antenna for my TV?

Old 03-23-2007, 08:11 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 56
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can I use a VHF radio antenna for my TV?

I've been trying to figure out the best way to mount a TV antenna on top of my boat. I know that you can use VHF antennas to pick up FM so I was wondering why I couldn't use it to pick up TV signals?

Bill
Old 03-23-2007, 09:08 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Port Isabel, TX
Posts: 2,050
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Can I use a VHF radio antenna for my TV?

won't hurt anything.. try it ;?
Old 03-23-2007, 11:04 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,494
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: Can I use a VHF radio antenna for my TV?

I'd be real curious to know what you find if you try it. What first comes to my mind is you have an impedance mismatch. TV coax is 75 ohm and you're trying to use an antenna that is 52 ohm. Let us know how it works out, as marker150 said, "won't hurt anything.. try it". Come to think of it, marker150, weren't you the one on the Titanic that said, "captain, I think we'll just glance off of it, won't hurt anything.. try it". LOL
Team Ruby
Old 03-23-2007, 11:22 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 398
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Can I use a VHF radio antenna for my TV?

I'm curious about this too. I'm thinking it may work if you terminate the coax from the antenna properly. Doesn't the antenna input on your TV have 2 screw terminals? I'd use one of those matching transformers you get with most TVs that you can terminate the coax from the antenna on one side (with an F type plug) and then terminate the two wires on the other side on your antenna input terminals on the TV.
Old 03-23-2007, 11:57 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 399
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Can I use a VHF radio antenna for my TV?

It might work, might not. You should at least be able to tune in the strong local stations. It will basically be working like a long wire. Go to Radio Shack and get an adaptor to go from the pl-259 plug to F. It definately won't hurt anything, as long as you are not transmitting on the antenna while it is hooked up to your tv!
Old 03-24-2007, 03:28 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Raleigh & Surf City, NC
Posts: 13,019
Likes: 0
Received 1,007 Likes on 513 Posts
Default Re: Can I use a VHF radio antenna for my TV?

If you are talking about using a separate VHF antenna, that won't hurt anything and will work better than no antenna. Do not hook up a TV and a VHF radio to the same antenna unless you plan to receive only. Transmitting 25 watts into the RF input to a TV will damage the tuner in the TV.
Old 03-24-2007, 03:05 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 56
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Can I use a VHF radio antenna for my TV?

Thanks for the replys guys. Shakespeare makes an adaptor that lets you use your VHF antenna as your am/fm antenna. They say you get great reception with it. They also say you can use both radios at the same time. I was wondering if instead of hooking it to my stereo I could hook it up to my TV? And what kind of reception would I get? Anyone out there know what I can expect before I spend the $45 for the adaptor?

Thanks
Bill
Old 03-24-2007, 03:33 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 399
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Can I use a VHF radio antenna for my TV?

My guess is that the adaptor to let you use your vhf ant with your am-fm won't work. I don't know for sure how they are made, but I would guess that they are a band pass filter. Basically that means that they only allow frequencies above a certain freq to go one place and below that freq to another. FM radio is 88-108 mhz, marine vhf is in the 156-162-ish range and tv freqs are all over the place! Here is a link to a list of freqs just so you can see why outdoor tv antennas look strange:

http://www.arrl.org/tis/info/catv-ch.html

VHF High and UHF freqs would be on the same side of the bandpass filter as the marine vhf freqs.
Old 03-24-2007, 06:52 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default RE: Can I use a VHF radio antenna for my TV?

BestDay - 3/23/2007 7:11 PM

I've been trying to figure out the best way to mount a TV antenna on top of my boat. I know that you can use VHF antennas to pick up FM so I was wondering why I couldn't use it to pick up TV signals?

Bill
You'll get a signal, but as someone else pointed out, it will be no better than what you would pick up with a piece of wire the same length.

Is there a top on your boat? Consider something like this:




http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=family
Old 03-24-2007, 10:18 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 16,446
Received 996 Likes on 770 Posts
Default Re: Can I use a VHF radio antenna for my TV?

Perhaps if you attached a few of these to the antenna or highest point of the vessel? http://hungryinhogtown.typepad.com/h...stible_e.html\ [:D]

rwidman's is the better solution.
Old 03-25-2007, 02:47 PM
  #11  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 56
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Can I use a VHF radio antenna for my TV?

rwidman, thanks for the reply. Shakespeare makes marine TV antennas that are similar to the one you linked to. They make them in 14 inch and 21 inch versions. I ordered a 14 inch one. I didn't know that TV antennas were a different ohm than VHF and FM. Now I understand why it won't work. I'll just have to find a good way to mount the 14 inch antenna.

Thanks,
Bill

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.