Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

What size fuse?

Old 03-22-2007, 11:04 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Upper Marlboro Maryland
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What size fuse?

I am going to use the BEP battery distribution cluster. I am looking at the installation diagram and its saying to use a fuse on my positive post on my house battery. It also calls for a fuse just before my switch pannel. I dont know what size fuse to use at these locations. I have a 2005 Yamaha f150. Im not sure how many amps my starter can draw. The BEP cluster is the 100 amp model 716 with VSR. I plan on just having small loads at my switch pannel.The largest will probably be a amp or spot light. The rest of the install looks fairly simple. Thanks
Old 03-23-2007, 11:46 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Redington Beach, FL
Posts: 362
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What size fuse?

20 AMP will be fine. In the future, when you add gadgets, then the manufacturer will recommend an appropriate fuse size in line to that gadget.

Old 03-23-2007, 01:28 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 2,624
Received 21 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Re: What size fuse?

Its impractical to fuse the wire from your battery to your starter - its not done. There should be a fuse or breaker at or near the battery for the wire that supplies power to your front fuse/switch panel. That fuse should be sized for the WIRE that goes from the battery forward and that wire should be sized to properly supply the current for ALL of the devices you connect up there.

Its pretty easy: add up the current requirements for everything that is or will be connected up front. THAT is how much current you need to size the wire for that is supplying power to that panel. The fuse or breaker connected to that wire near the battery should be sized no larger than the max current that size wire is rated for. THEN, each individual item up front will have its own fuse or breaker that is sized just for that ONE device.

The fuseor breaker between the battery and your switch/fuse panel should be located as close to the battery as possible. What this fuse or breaker is doing is keeping your boat from burning in case that feed wire becomes shorted somewhere between the battery and the panel. (Because if it did, the battery would supply more than enough current to cause a fire) There is no sense and no need to fuse that same wire again near the panel.

Ken
Old 03-23-2007, 03:48 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent Narrows, MD
Posts: 7,144
Received 774 Likes on 366 Posts
Default Re: What size fuse?

kchace - 3/23/2007 1:28 PM

There should be a fuse or breaker at or near the battery for the wire that supplies power to your front fuse/switch panel. That fuse should be sized for the WIRE that goes from the battery forward and that wire should be sized to properly supply the current for ALL of the devices you connect up there.
Correct answer

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.