Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin 3210 Network Bundle Install Questions

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 3210 Network Bundle Install Questions

Old 03-21-2007, 11:25 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 4,058
Likes: 0
Received 537 Likes on 178 Posts
Default Garmin 3210 Network Bundle Install Questions

I have

1) The big screen unit

2) XM Module

3) Network Box

4) Garmin Radar (on Backorder)


Working backwords

1) I do not have the radar yet. Does it have its own box like the XM GDL 30A module? If so, how big is it compared to the XM module? I am very tight on space already, so I kinda need to know what to expect. From the pics, it appears it goes directly into the GMS-10 Network Expander. I assume it will also need power. Any idea what guage the wires are for the hot and neg?

2) Is there any issue with me joining all of the hot leads for the Garmin GPS, XM Mod, GMS 10 network, and putting them on one spade connector on one of my breakered AUX switches. I have three open switches and one will be taken up by the Furuno Sounder. (Even though the kit came with the GSD -21 Black box sounder, I am not going to install it at this point)

3) Same question as far as tying the ground leads together to the ground buss. Would 18 G be enough if so for a 3 foot or so run?

4) The XM antenna is easy. Plugs right in to the box. The GPS antenna is kinda confusing. Anyone care to tell me what is the best sequence as far as what I have? How can I go to the VHF with the GPS #'s to allow the DSC to interface.? Are there any other NEMA connections I should consider to make the most of the unit?


Thanks for any and all help. If you have pics, it would be of great help to me.... thanks


Old 03-21-2007, 11:34 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 1,338
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Garmin 3210 Network Bundle Install Questions

1. Only the GMR404 4Kw open Array has a Black box unit for 12v to 24v conversion. 12GA min

2 As long as each unit is fused and the wire can take the current draw. Should be 12-14G wire

3 18Ga is not enough, we would use 12ga or larger.

4. The NMEA wire needs to come from the blue wire on the main power harness. If you select the main menu, system tab you'll need to select NMEA in Out. The VHF NMEA depends on the make and model.


The Garmin equipment (except radar) can be tied together and use a 14-16ga wire. Please fuse or breaker all these items. The Garmin is the only radar that converts the signal inside the radar and transmits down to the plotter via a Cat 5 Network. Hooking all your electronics up to 1 power point is NOT a great idea but people do it.
Old 03-21-2007, 11:52 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 4,058
Likes: 0
Received 537 Likes on 178 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 3210 Network Bundle Install Questions

How would you break it up if you had two open breakered AUX switches for the Garmin bundle?

Still not quite sure how to attach the Garmin GPS antenna wires to the main harness into the 3210...
Old 03-22-2007, 10:51 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 4,058
Likes: 0
Received 537 Likes on 178 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 3210 Network Bundle Install Questions

Anyone have any pics of an install...especially the wiring and connections?

thanks
Old 03-22-2007, 01:40 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,404
Received 129 Likes on 81 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 3210 Network Bundle Install Questions

cracker,
Here is the link that illustrates how the NMEA and GPS17 antenna are connected.
http://www.thehulltruth.com/forums/t...asp?tid=140856

I will doing the same as you when my 4212 arrives. the 585 is nice isn't it.

bluewater pirate and Ductape are the experts on this. I am surprised that the Garmin doesn't have a simple "plug" for the antenna like the sat weather antenna. The 3210 manual is not the easiest to follow for this either
Old 03-22-2007, 03:08 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 212
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 3210 Network Bundle Install Questions

Why don't you just have Scales do it so you don't completely wreck it Cracker?
Old 03-23-2007, 05:34 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dartmouth MA
Posts: 5,994
Received 981 Likes on 491 Posts
Default RE: Garmin 3210 Network Bundle Install Questions

Cracker-
Am in the process of installing my Garmin bundle as well. Here's few pix of what I've done so far:


I've mounted everything on a piece of starboard that will fit under my flybridge console-figured it was easier to do it this way than hunched over in the dark...
Am also waiting on my Garmin radar but I did hook everything up to a 12 v battery last night and was happy to see everything was working. I used a fused terminal block to hook everything into and then a power lead from the block to the bus bars in the boat-the power leads in the photo will be changed out to 12 ga now that I've read SWFLNavs infor - thanks. Radar when it comes in will get its own line to a dedicated switcedh power source on the bridge bus-it wont go into the fuse box pictured here.
The gps antenna leads are colored and you need to match the 3 antenna leads to the appropriate 3 different colored leads from the chartplotter's chord-the top diagram in the manual is the one to go with. I used male/female connectors for this connection whihc will make it easier for me to snake the antenna wire thru the antenna pole.
Hope this helps-I'm no electrician so anybody can chime in with what they may see that's wrong or could be done better. She goes in the boat tis week end-cant wait!
Old 03-26-2007, 11:19 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 4,058
Likes: 0
Received 537 Likes on 178 Posts
Default Re: Garmin 3210 Network Bundle Install Questions

Thanks!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.