Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

Old 03-21-2007, 11:19 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saigon, Vietnam
Posts: 2,200
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

Hi All,

if this can suggest any idea about another possibility to fix a transom mount ducer, here are pics:




I used 2 existing holes all through transom above the WL.
I fixed the ducer mount on the bottom of a teak plank. This plank is grooved all along and is tightened on the top of the transom via 2 bolds with butterfly hexnuts.

Except the look, I only see advantages:

- easy removable or brought upward in case of trailering, water with debris, ...

- no water infiltration in transom/boat.

-easy adjusting (up or down).

- easy cleaning.


It works up to my WOT (30 knots), and readings do not seem affected (Garmin 140, I know too basic ;? ). I looks strong enough, and at least much stronger than the ducer.

I had no choice as half the time, the boat lays in mud at low tide.

Cost? You guess. Less than a transducer, less than a transom. ;?
Old 03-23-2007, 05:39 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Port Isabel, TX
Posts: 2,050
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

I had no choice as half the time, the boat lays in mud at low tide.
Lays in the mud, that is an understatement
Old 03-23-2007, 07:25 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 811
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

I've seen commercially made setups that are similar to this except they use Starboard instead of wood and used a track instead of bolts with wing nuts. Same concept though, good job.
Old 03-23-2007, 09:34 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saigon, Vietnam
Posts: 2,200
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

Jim Z - 3/24/2007 7:25 AM

I've seen commercially made setups that are similar to this except they use Starboard instead of wood and used a track instead of bolts with wing nuts. Same concept though, good job.
Gosh I thought I created something. Sorry I haven't even seen another fish finder than mine before ;?
Old 03-23-2007, 09:44 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: N. Palm Beach
Posts: 441
Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts
Default RE: How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

Thats a great concept, Jim Z making it out of starboard makes it a better idea. Thats what makes this site so cool, you can learn sooo much
Old 03-23-2007, 09:53 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saigon, Vietnam
Posts: 2,200
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

I have been looking for the translation of Starboard several time and could not find it. What is starboard made of? (sorry, I am not native english speaker) ;?
Old 03-23-2007, 10:10 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 5,717
Received 388 Likes on 271 Posts
Default Re: How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

XV2PS - 3/23/2007 10:53 PM What is starboard made of?
Read about it below.

http://www.kingstarboard.com/Products/starboard.aspx
Old 03-23-2007, 11:12 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saigon, Vietnam
Posts: 2,200
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

Thanks Mud runner (I like the name). I already contacted them for the business I am runing (high grade outdoor furniture), I think there is also some interrest there. Yes, it exists, asian based factories who buys raw materials in the US (even fabric as I currently do).

As for the boat, well, I have unlimited teak and no starboard (yet)
Old 03-24-2007, 12:43 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CA & San Carlos, Mx
Posts: 23,677
Received 1,350 Likes on 853 Posts
Default Re: How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

The coolest idea I have had is to but it on a trim tab actuator so that its adjustable on the fly.
Old 03-24-2007, 12:46 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida Keys
Posts: 5,975
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

XV2PS - 3/23/2007 11:12 PM

Thanks Mud runner (I like the name). I already contacted them for the business I am runing (high grade outdoor furniture), I think there is also some interrest there. Yes, it exists, asian based factories who buys raw materials in the US (even fabric as I currently do).

As for the boat, well, I have unlimited teak and no starboard (yet)
I remember your earlier post when you were looking to get a transducer or fishfinder, and you were talking about the floating crap, mud, etc. in your rivers. I thought "heh, I could tell him a thing or two about mud, floating trees, dead animals, etc." having boated in the midwest in spring in a big variety of shi**y, muddy lakes, rivers, streams, etc. But man, after those photos, I've gotta tell you, you win. I see why you were worried about the unit reading mostly crap in the water rather than fish.

That first photo is something else.
Old 03-24-2007, 01:31 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saigon, Vietnam
Posts: 2,200
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

Oh no, this is not the water, this is just mud at low tide

But true that floating debris are a lot, but when you read the FF and it marks you fishes such as sometimes 2-3 a second right under your raft, you stress more. ;?
Old 03-24-2007, 06:58 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent Narrows, MD
Posts: 7,144
Received 774 Likes on 366 Posts
Default Adjustable Transducer Bracket



http://www.transomliftmount.com/

Old 03-24-2007, 08:19 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saigon, Vietnam
Posts: 2,200
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

OK, I have saved 74.99 USD plus it seems you still have to screw under the water line with this lift. ;?
Old 03-24-2007, 08:23 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Groveland
Posts: 566
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: How I mounted a transom transducer: easy done, no hole under WL, easy removed

thats a good idea xv.

that is some mud you got there.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.