Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Powering DC electronics at home.

Old 03-21-2007, 10:51 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Powering DC electronics at home.

I'd like to fire up my Raymarine chartplotter in the house.

I'm not quite sure where to look for a suitable converter/inverter to do so.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks all.
Old 03-21-2007, 11:14 PM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Powering DC electronics at home.

Just look up the spec for your unit and buy a 12VDC wall wart that will handle 10% more current than your unit draws. Then buy another power cable and connect it to the power supply.
Old 03-21-2007, 11:26 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saigon, Vietnam
Posts: 2,200
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Powering DC electronics at home.

Be also careful that some cheap 12V transformer are sometimes 1-4 volts higher just to garantee 12V at max. current drain. So check also max voltage your stuff can get in. Unless get a battery or a 12 or 13.8V power supply.

Edit
Just bought a garmin FF 140, rated up to 18V, so in my hotel room, I could not resist wiring it up to my PC charger rated 16V delivering 17V (FF has a volt meter).

It could not read the depth of the lavabo, just figure out... but enjoyed the simulator function.
Old 03-21-2007, 11:49 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Surfside Beach, TX, USA
Posts: 2,500
Received 587 Likes on 289 Posts
Default RE: Powering DC electronics at home.

I had to bring my Furuno Navnet plotter indoors to check out the GPS Utilities to Data Port 3 interface, and I powered it with a 30 year old battery charger set on my desk. The charger worked great - the data port is DOA.
Old 03-21-2007, 11:50 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 16,418
Received 982 Likes on 760 Posts
Default Re: Powering DC electronics at home.

Any marine electronics should be able to handle at least 14+ VDC or so. Radio Shack has 13.8V supplies at 3 amps for $43 and 15 amp for $80 & a net search will provide loads of cheaper choices at various amp output. I'd think the chartplotter alone wouldn't need more than 3 amps, but check . As mentioned above, you'll need a spare Raymarine powercord if you don't have one , and the GPS antenna/receiver in clearview if you feel the desire for present location acquisition.
Old 03-22-2007, 12:43 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: On the wild side !!
Posts: 5,711
Received 52 Likes on 31 Posts
Default RE: Powering DC electronics at home.

A $20.00 lawn and tractor battery from Wal Mart will work wonders !

Don't let the Wal Mart bashers kid ya !
Old 03-22-2007, 05:41 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tampa FL US
Posts: 582
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Powering DC electronics at home.

MFG: HIPRO
P/N: HP-02040D43
Input: 100-240 VAC 50/60Hz
Output: 12VDC @ 3.33A
Specifications/Features: Desktop switching supply with overvoltage & current limit protection. 1% line, 5% load reg. IEC input AC connector, 6ft output cord with 5.5/2.5mm coaxial plug Center +. LED power indicator. UL/canada/usa/TUV/CE listed.
L: 4-1/2" W: 2-3/8" H: 1-1/8" WT: .6
8.95$+shipping
Old 03-22-2007, 07:52 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent Narrows, MD
Posts: 7,145
Received 774 Likes on 366 Posts
Default Re: Powering DC electronics at home.

As stated:

A 2nd, compatible wiring harness & a RS 12VDC power supply

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search

Old 03-22-2007, 08:05 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 717
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Powering DC electronics at home.

if you are only looking to do it occasionally, buy a 'jump pack' :

http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/produ...seBVCookie=Yes

I have a 12VDC lighter type plug rigged to alligator clips for checking things in the field
Old 03-22-2007, 10:14 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Powering DC electronics at home.

Thanks! The Radio Shack PS looks like just the ticket.
Old 03-22-2007, 01:00 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 2,624
Received 21 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Re: Powering DC electronics at home.

Most of the above will work just fine.

You could also use a power supply out of an old PC. The yellow wire on the 4 prong plugs is 12V - the black wire is gnd. Just did this with my new Chartplotter.

Unless you KNOW about the quality of power out of a battery charger, you should NOT use one. Some battery chargers have VERY poor quality power. A battery doesn't care, but a piece of electronic gear could easily be damaged.

Ken
Old 03-22-2007, 01:53 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 108
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Powering DC electronics at home.

I have been using something similar to this with my garmin streetpilot. This is not the one I use, and I only show this as an example, but the price here is only $6.99. So far this type of adaptor has worked fine. I have never dealt with this vendor and I am sure similar items would be available from a number of different suppliers.

http://www.daydeal.com/product.php?p...=8769&cat=2174
Old 03-22-2007, 05:44 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pa. - 20 Crestliner
Posts: 1,772
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Powering DC electronics at home.

This is what I use, mostly because I have it laying around from the old Radio days. I bring it home in the Fall and set it up in the Spring at Camp to power the VHF set up in the Camper. Maybe more than you want to spend but will last forever. I picked it up at a Truckstop CB Shop.


http://www.nextag.com/pyramid-power-supply/search-html


Old 03-22-2007, 08:34 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
ScarabChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dania Beach, FL
Posts: 28,413
Likes: 0
Received 43 Likes on 40 Posts
Default Re: Powering DC electronics at home.

I always have a spare marine battery in the garage thats charged. I just bring the battery inside and secure the wires with the wing nuts. I just got some new electronics and I wanted to fire them up to make sure they work before tearing into the boat. All is good, will be tearing in to the boat first thing tomorrow.
Old 03-23-2007, 01:42 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cypress, TX - USA
Posts: 879
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Powering DC electronics at home.

Why couldn't you use a car battery charger?
Old 03-23-2007, 03:03 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 2,624
Received 21 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Re: Powering DC electronics at home.

Cat O Lies - 3/23/2007 1:42 PM

Why couldn't you use a car battery charger?
Because some car battery chargers put out VERY poor quality power (Batteries wouldn't care, but your electronics would). Without a battery attached, the voltage of some car battery chargers can go over 20 volts and may only have 1/2 wave ac to dc rectification. These large pulses are NOT good for modern electronics. Now that said, some car chargers I'm sure are fine - the problem is you'd have to check - preferrably with a scope to make sure the voltage was decent.

With all the dc power 'bricks' and old pc's lying around, I'd think it would be pretty easy to find one for free.

Ken
Old 03-24-2007, 01:37 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Powering DC electronics at home.

I went with the Radio Shack unit. I like being able to hook both bare wires and use a 12V power plug. It's perfect for my bench.

It was only around $40.00 and it's built very well. Having a power switch is nice, too.

Thanks all for the advice.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.