Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

floscan????????

Old 03-21-2007, 03:17 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: THE LOBSTER CAPITAL
Posts: 459
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default floscan????????

I'm thinking about getting one. What are your comments about them? Good, bad , maybe something better? Do you think they are worth the money?
Old 03-21-2007, 03:25 PM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: floscan????????

Great product, especially the twinscan version for twin outboards. Love mine.
Old 03-21-2007, 03:34 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wanchese, NC
Posts: 11,076
Received 478 Likes on 267 Posts
Default Re: floscan????????

I installed a Floscan on the last boat with a Honda 225. Very accurate. I would highly recommend the Floscan. You will have to dial it in the first few tanks of gas but once you do that you will be good to go...Mark
Old 03-21-2007, 03:43 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,432
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: floscan????????

How hard to install (beyond the hole saw in the console for the gauge)? The wiring, etc. hard to hook up?
Old 03-21-2007, 03:53 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA and ME
Posts: 16,795
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: floscan????????

I bought one and have yet to install it. I've never heard anything bad about them.
Old 03-21-2007, 03:55 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: floscan????????

I had the FloScan Twinscan dual fuel flow meters and dual tachometers. No drilling was required at the helm as I replaced each of the two single tachometers. They worked well and were very accurate.

Highly recommended,

Joe
His Doghouse Too
Old 03-21-2007, 04:08 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: pompano beach, florida
Posts: 5,318
Received 622 Likes on 339 Posts
Default Re: floscan????????

What engine are you putting them on? I installed them on my diesels and LOVE them. I think it is one of the most important guages on the boat. Floscan has excellent customer service and it is very easy to install.
Old 03-21-2007, 05:14 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: THE LOBSTER CAPITAL
Posts: 459
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: floscan????????

dpdash - 3/21/2007 4:08 PM

What engine are you putting them on? I installed them on my diesels and LOVE them. I think it is one of the most important guages on the boat. Floscan has excellent customer service and it is very easy to install.
I'm repowering this year with a 225 suzuki 4-stroke.

Old 03-21-2007, 09:24 PM
  #9  
RMM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 551
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: floscan????????

Just bought one and going to install this week will let you know. Wiring doesn't look to bad.
Old 03-22-2007, 07:29 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: THE LOBSTER CAPITAL
Posts: 459
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: floscan????????

I took this from the floscan website. I guess I wont be getting one since It would be a suzuki.


Important note for the following outboard engine owners:
- Evinrude E-Tec 2-cycle
- Mercury Verado 4-cycle
- Suzuki 4-cycle
- Yamaha 4-cycle

The engines listed above have two fuel pumps. Because the engine's lift, or low pressure pump cycles on and off while filling the vapor separation module, the FloScan instrument GPH/LPH readings will constantly fluctuate between 0 GPH/LPH and approximately 25-50 GPH or 95-190 LPH depending on lift pump and engine size. Though the GPH/LPH readings are unusable, the FloScan instrument will accurately record total fuel consumption as displayed in the totalizer window.
Old 03-22-2007, 08:19 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: GA, 185 Scout w/ 130 Hond
Posts: 261
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: floscan????????

I have a 7000 series on a Honda 130. The flow sensor went bad after 5 years. I bought a replacement (updated model) sensor. I'm trying test get it to read properly. Original sensor was mounted directly to the outlet of the fuel filter. New sensor would not read any flow there. I installed a 12" piece of hose between the filter and sensor to get the sensor lower (what Floscan said to do) It now reads about 75% of the time at idle and 100% of the time while running. During idle it flows about 0.1 to 0.3 GPH. I may try to mount the sensor in the bilge to get it even lower. The issue is getting the sensor as low as possible to to kept it full of fuel. If it is in the highest point of the fuel system there is a good chance it will not stay flooded all the time.

Hope this helps.
Old 03-22-2007, 10:08 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: pompano beach, florida
Posts: 5,318
Received 622 Likes on 339 Posts
Default RE: floscan????????

Chances are that 130 Honda isn't burning enough fuel at idle to register, a good problem. I think you need a minimum flow rate to register.
Old 03-22-2007, 10:45 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: GA, 185 Scout w/ 130 Hond
Posts: 261
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: floscan????????

That is part of it. I have the sensor with the lowest flow rate range. I get about 4-5 MPG running @ 4500 RPM (~ 30 MPH)
Old 03-22-2007, 03:48 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 2,624
Received 21 Likes on 10 Posts
Default RE: floscan????????

maineguides - 3/21/2007 3:17 PM

I'm thinking about getting one. What are your comments about them? Good, bad , maybe something better? Do you think they are worth the money?
If you're re-powering with a new Suzuki, get the Lowrance LMF-200 or LMF-400. Much cheaper than the Flowscan and MUCH more functionality (I've found the LMF-400 WITH one sensor for $159 and with no sensors for $129). You can get an adapter from Suzuki (about $100 from Browns Point) to output almost ALL of the engine's internal computer data (including fual usage) to an NMEA-2000 bus and display it on the LMF gauge and/or any instruments depthfinders/GPS/Plotters that also support NMEA-2000. Its awesome.

This is the link to the LMF-400 on the Lowrance site. You can look into the manual and see all it can do.

http://www.lowrance.com/Products/Marine/LMF-400.asp

This is what you can get out of the engine for display on the LMF gauges and/or other screens.

Engine RPM
Alternator Voltage
Engine Hours
Fuel Flow
Engine Trim
Fuel Used
Trip Fuel Used
Seasonal Fuel Used
Overheat
Low Oil Pressure
Over Rev
Low Battery Voltage

See these threads:

http://www.thehulltruth.com/forums/t...29999&posts=28

http://www.thehulltruth.com/forums/t...04685&posts=20

Hope this helps

Ken
Old 03-22-2007, 09:06 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: THE LOBSTER CAPITAL
Posts: 459
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: floscan????????

kchace

Thanks for the info. I just spent about an hour and half looking at those threads and am now very confused as to what I need. I'll have to check into it. It looks like the way to go.

Thanks again
Old 03-23-2007, 06:02 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bar Harbor, Maine
Posts: 2,699
Likes: 0
Received 33 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Re: floscan????????

maineguides - 3/22/2007 9:06 PM kchace Thanks for the info. I just spent about an hour and half looking at those threads and am now very confused as to what I need. I'll have to check into it. It looks like the way to go. Thanks again
Jim,

Why not just go with the Suzuki SMIS gauge package - that way you will get the more accurate fuel flow figures right from the engine management computer. Have you already contracted for the re-power? If not contact me as I may be able to help you out.

Gary.
Old 03-23-2007, 08:32 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: THE LOBSTER CAPITAL
Posts: 459
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: floscan????????

lakensea - 3/23/2007 6:02 AM



maineguides - 3/22/2007 9:06 PM kchace Thanks for the info. I just spent about an hour and half looking at those threads and am now very confused as to what I need. I'll have to check into it. It looks like the way to go. Thanks again
Jim,

Why not just go with the Suzuki SMIS gauge package - that way you will get the more accurate fuel flow figures right from the engine management computer. Have you already contracted for the re-power? If not contact me as I may be able to help you out.

Gary.
Gary
Thanks for the offer but I have already contracted.
I went to the Suzuki website and they had a pic of some new digital guages. Are these the "SIMS" guages your talking about?
DO you have to buy the package or can you get just the fuel flow guage?
I just dont have any use for a speedo,trim,water pressure guages........etc
Old 03-23-2007, 10:01 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 2,624
Received 21 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Re: floscan????????


Unfortunately, this stuff is so new that even on the Suzuki website the data is not really complete.

The Suzuki SMIS gauge *is* an LMS-400, though I think in addition to what the LMS-400 can show, it can also show engine codes.

The Suzuki SMIS gauge or an LMS-400 is what does all the work and has all the functionality built in! So you only need the one gauge and you can display tons of stuff - up to 4 things at a time.

All you really need for a working setup is:

1. the gauge (The Suzuki SMIS gauge or LMF-400)
2. the engine adapter and the special wiring (Called an NMEA-2000 bus)
3. You would need *something* connected to the bus that can send speed/distance info to the gauge. The *something* could be any type of unit that has a GPS and is also connected to the NMEA-2000 bus.

If you don't have a GPS that you could connect to the NMEA-2000 bus, the gauge will STILL show all the other stuff, but would not be able to tell you your speed or things related to that like Mpg. There is a 'paddle wheel' speed sensor available that could also be used for speed/mpg info.

Ken

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.