Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Radar Mount.....Do I need a wedge?

Old 03-20-2007, 11:15 PM
  #1  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Limerick, Pa, 19468
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Radar Mount.....Do I need a wedge?

I have a Pursuit 2470 CC with a T-top. I'm having a 4kw Raydome installed. The installer says I don't need a wedge. The boat is new to me, I've only had it out a couple of times. On plane, I think it runs pretty level, but I have think that I should have at least a 2degree wedge. I mean, it can't run completely level can it?

By the way, I have twin yami 150's for power.
Old 03-21-2007, 03:29 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Radar Mount.....Do I need a wedge?

Only way to really tell is by loading the boat as you would use it and then try out the radar.Myself,I use radar when the weather dictates it or night running.looking for birds other then that,most of the time it is off.If this is your first radar,learn how to use it in good weather till it is second nature.You don't want to learn it when you really need it.Bad weather being at lower speeds,the bow will be up more then the norm when you set your trim tabs up.So that is something to think about.
Old 03-21-2007, 07:57 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,494
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: Radar Mount.....Do I need a wedge?

No, in my opinion based on what you have told us, you don't need a wedge. The vertical dispersion, the spray pattern if you will, is about 25 degrees as I recall. This means that from perfectly level, the beam is covering 12.5 degrees down and 12.5 degrees above the horizon line. If you see nothing but clouds when you are on plane, you might consider a wedge at this point. If you are in a channel and you run by a one of those short can buoys, do you lose sight of it on the radar at some point? Try this on the shortest range setting and pass as close as you want and see if you have a blind spot.
Team Ruby
Old 03-21-2007, 08:32 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Radar Mount.....Do I need a wedge?

Yes I think so, Run the boat on plane, put a level where you are going to mount the raydome and measure the angle. I had a 33 Tiara that I had to take the dome back off and put about a 1/2" wedge in. Be careful though, not to much, when not on plane you still need to see the horizon in the cone of the radar.
Old 03-21-2007, 08:57 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 4,510
Received 625 Likes on 329 Posts
Default Re: Radar Mount.....Do I need a wedge?

BarramundI - 3/21/2007 8:32 AM

Yes I think so, Run the boat on plane, put a level where you are going to mount the raydome and measure the angle. I had a 33 Tiara that I had to take the dome back off and put about a 1/2" wedge in. Be careful though, not to much, when not on plane you still need to see the horizon in the cone of the radar.
That is what we have done as well....... On a nice day, maybe in the bay if you have one....have someone get up to a speed that you will most likely be running when you need the radar most, and take a 4 foot level and lay it on the hard top and see how far off you are......

A lot of boats level out nice at 75-85% throttle but you will unlikely be running at those speeds in limited visibility. we usually take it down to about 15-18 kts in bad fog or real dark nights with no moon. My boat certainly runs at a different angle in those conditions.....

Most sport boats come with a built in radar platform on the hard top now and everyone I have seen is angled, so the manufacturers are doing their homework as well......

Like others have said you do have a "cone" effect so it doesn't need to be perfect but close is nice.........
Old 03-21-2007, 09:21 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 717
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Radar Mount.....Do I need a wedge?

I usually run the boat at cruise, and just 'trace' the horizon on the helm side window with a grease pencil, and use that for referance. Instead of trying to judge the forward view, I just shoot for minimising the vessels on wake aft to judge my ideal wedge angle...
Old 03-21-2007, 09:55 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,494
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: Radar Mount.....Do I need a wedge?

I don't disagree with anyone's responses but, a lot of center consoles in that size range do run closer to level than some of the bigger cruisers some of you guys are referring to. A Searay express cruiser I once owned ran with the bow considerably higher than the bow on my CC does. I have not installed anywhere near as many radars as prodigal has but most have been on CC's and not a one has needed a wedge. Joe has said that it works well as far as he can tell, so, I guess if it puts him into a comfort zone, go ahead and put one on. It isn't going to hurt anything.
Team Ruby
Old 03-21-2007, 04:21 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent Narrows, MD
Posts: 7,145
Received 774 Likes on 366 Posts
Default Re: Radar Mount.....Do I need a wedge?

IMO, getting it up off the top (using a mount or strut) is going to provide better results than a wedge. You may only need a few washers to modify the angle

Old 03-21-2007, 06:19 PM
  #9  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Limerick, Pa, 19468
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Radar Mount.....Do I need a wedge?

Thanks to everyone for your advice. I've decided to with a 5 inch mount, to get it up off the T-top, at a 4 degree angle. The mount comes already at that angle. I agree that when I need the radar the most, I won't be running on plane and I think the 4 degrees will be usefull.

I'd still be happy to hear from anyone who has a different opinion.

Thanks again to every.

Joe

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.