Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

Old 03-20-2007, 10:25 PM
  #1  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lawrenceville,Georgia
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

Need some advice on transducer type and placement for a Catamaran Hull. Has anyone installed a thru hull? I have tried different transom mounts but performance is poor at best. Any direction would be appreciated. I have the lowrance 104 xc with 1k transducer. Considering a Furuno 585 but unsure of transducer type and placement.
Old 03-20-2007, 10:40 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surrounded by ocean
Posts: 32
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

Try accessing the World Cat forum and do a search under "transducers". Lots of info on that subject there.
Old 03-21-2007, 07:15 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

How old of a WorldCat? I think they started to put a larger access hatch to accomodate the M260 1kw inhull on either their 2005 or 2006's.
Old 03-21-2007, 07:49 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Down Under
Posts: 411
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

Mugzy, when you say "thru hull" do you mean shoot through the hull or an actual "hole through the hull?" I can comment on the "shoot through the hull" as I am using the R199 and it works very well shooting through fibreglass. If temperature is needed then you'll need to install a seperate sensor and "Y"cable adaoptor for the Furuno. I also know of guys that are using the "through the hull' type B119 600W which also has excellent results. I also heard that Airmar is soon to release a 1kW s/steel tilted element that will plug straight into the FCV585. You'll need to make a fair size hole in the hull but that's s small sacrifice for 1kW. It will fit practically flush with the underside of the hull "low porofile". I hope this helps. Regards John
Old 03-21-2007, 09:13 AM
  #5  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lawrenceville,Georgia
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

Thank you.

Mugzy
Old 03-21-2007, 09:16 AM
  #6  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lawrenceville,Georgia
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

Sea Swirler,

It is a 2004. M260 would not fit unless I put a larger access which I would like to avoid.

Mugzy
Old 03-21-2007, 09:24 AM
  #7  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lawrenceville,Georgia
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

John,

I was talking about thru hull. I know some people have had mixed success with shoot thru so I was considering going straight to thru hull with the tilted element. I will check out the R199 as well. Where did you place your R199? Also will the tilted element still work if the hull is basically flat? Thanks for the advice.

Mugzy
FinalApproval/Worldcat 270TE
Old 03-21-2007, 09:44 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,350
Received 130 Likes on 77 Posts
Default Re: Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

I will second going to the World Cat factory website and forum and doing a search. This topic has been beat to death with no real great solution as far as I can tell. My P66 Airmar would always lose bottom around 30kts on my old 270 TE and I realize that is different than what you are talking about now.

Good luck,

Ben
Old 03-21-2007, 10:19 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

The reason I asked the year is that a friend of mine has a 2004 and couldn't fit the m260's well, but he did epoxy the M260 directly to the hull (like an old style puck) and he gets bottom on his DSM250 through a little over 45 (as fast as he can open it up given how the boat is propped for now).
Old 03-22-2007, 12:01 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CA & San Carlos, Mx
Posts: 23,677
Received 1,350 Likes on 853 Posts
Default Re: Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

An M260 tank will fit through an 8" hatch IMO. This is the one I would pair with a 585, and I own this combo.
Old 03-22-2007, 12:52 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: East Central Florida
Posts: 7,202
Received 1,849 Likes on 895 Posts
Default Re: Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

Replacing the too small and leaky factory deck plates with the 10" Armstrong deck plates in the splash wells is very easy. I did it on my 2003 270TE and it was well worth it.

Do you have the 'new' M260 design with the 2 piece enclosure box? It's supposed to be much easier to fit through small deck plates than the original version.

Doug

Old 03-25-2007, 09:43 AM
  #12  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lawrenceville,Georgia
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

Onewolf,

I haven't purchased the m260 yet. I'll take your advice and replace the deckplates first. Where did you purchase your deckplates?

Mugzy
Old 03-25-2007, 08:07 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,350
Received 130 Likes on 77 Posts
Default Re: Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

You can purchase the deckplates directly from Armstrong. I put them on my prior WC and as Doug mentioned they made a big difference and kept the water out. While you are taking the old deckplates out make sure the exposed foam core surface is sealed. You will also need to seal the screw holes for the old plate and ring setup. They say that a closed cell foam is used but why take the chance when sealing them is so easy.....you can buy the epoxy kit at any marine store.

I believe 05 was the first year WC started offering them as factory standard.

Keep us posted with the transducer install and how it functions.

Ben
Old 03-27-2007, 08:15 AM
  #14  
pjc
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: central fla
Posts: 1,192
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Re: Worldcat Catamaran Transducer Type and Placement

Replace the old deck plates with 10" armstrong and you will be cutting out the old screw holes. I've done mine and just cut'm in on a friends WC no more leaking hatches!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.