Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine ST6002 autopilot

Old 03-20-2007, 01:08 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Raymarine ST6002 autopilot

I'm ready to install the autopilot I have.Got a question that the installation manual doen't cover.Question I have is,with hyd steering,were does one install the hyd pump?My steering system is a Hynantic H60 helm with only two hoses that feed both hyd cyl at the motors.Back at the transom,the two hoses split to tees that feed each motor.Will I need a block valve in between the pump in the helm?Were does the center feed from the pump go to?There is no reservoir other then the helm itself.

If this works out,a wheel is in order!I never install a autopilot before.
Thanks for any help guys.
Old 03-20-2007, 03:18 PM
  #2  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mid - Atlantic
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine ST6002 autopilot

Take a look at the helm block where the two hydraulic hoses connect. There should be a third hole that is currently plugged. Remove the plug and resume installation. Good luck!
Old 03-20-2007, 03:26 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine ST6002 autopilot

My Raymarine autopilot installation went fairly easily. I installed the two "T's" on the back side of the pump (helm) and put them to the left and right sides of the electrical hydraulic pump. I then ran the center line from the electric pump to the center plug that Tom Kidwell mentioned. That third line is where the hydraulic fluid "reservior" keeps air from entering the electric pump.

It doesn't matter which side you connect each hose to because you can change the pumping direction by swapping the wires from the pump to the course computer.

Actually, there should be two of those center plugs. Use the bottom one. The top one would be connected to an upper helm station if you had one.

Good luck,

Joe
His Doghouse Too
Old 03-21-2007, 03:41 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine ST6002 autopilot

MJoe,you stated that you installed two Tees on the helm.How is the pump not feeding inbetween the helm and motors?Are you saying that the hoses come direct to one side of the tee,feeds out to the other side to the pump?Thanks.
Old 03-21-2007, 05:45 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine ST6002 autopilot

That is how I put it on my Wellcraft.

I actually had to make short jumpers to go from the back of the helm due to space constraints. But I came from the back of the helm with two short sections to the two "T's." On one side of the "T" I connected the hose that went back to the engines, on the other side I put the hose I sent to the pump.

The third hose I connected directly to the helm and ran it to the center connection on the pump.

On your question about a block valve, on my application with a Teleflex SeaStar helm, I did not require a block valve. There is something internal to the helm (a block there?) that prevents the helm from turning when the pump is pumping.

Joe
His Doghouse Too
Old 03-21-2007, 08:58 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 409
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine ST6002 autopilot

For me a picture is worth a thousand words, so check out the link below. You probably have a setup like that on page 10, but it ulitmately will depend upon the type of hydralic steering system you have.

http://www.raymarine.com/raymarine/S...aulic_pump.pdf

You should of gotten your steering system manual with your boat, if not and you know the type model, post it and I'm sure someone will get you a copy of the correct manual. This will also explain how to add a '2nd helm station' which is the same thing as adding the 'autopilot pump'.

Raymarine says to put the pump 'closest to the ram', but very few install that way (I did not, my pump is right below my helm station - 18' feet from the ram), so don't worry about getting the pump back by the motors unless that is most convienent for you.
Old 03-21-2007, 09:28 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 717
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine ST6002 autopilot

Its really rare for me to mount the pump nearer the cylinders, and I think I noticed that Raymarines directions somewhere noted that it's not nessercary to do so. I usually go right to the helm unit, with my 'tee's, and find a few 1-3 inch nipples make things easier.

You do want to get the pump as low as you can manage, so the hoses run up hill to the helm, with no loops for easier bleeding.
Old 03-22-2007, 08:53 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine ST6002 autopilot

The helm I have is a Hynaitic(sp?) H-60.Will I need a block vale for this system?Thanks guys.
Old 03-25-2007, 05:10 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine ST6002 autopilot

OK guys,just about finish installing the autopilot system yesterday.This is were I am at,got everything installed but the lenear feedback.The system I have has a rudder feedback,got the tube feedback on order.Anyway,I did fire up the system to check for any leaks,NONE,thank God.Getting under the console is not all that fun.Anyway,with the rudder feedbak in hand,the system did a great job of holding the motors to adjust the heading course.Can't wait to get the right feedback installed.Guess that will be sometime next week.Today after a bigbird hunt with my son ans son-n-law,I will play with it to see what is in the control head.Was beat after the job and working all night friday with no sleep.Oh,that is why I am up at 2:30 am.Shift work still sucks after 30 years,but I do love my days off on the weekdays!
Anybody has a ST6002 control head unit that has any info or tricks using it other then what is in the manual?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.