Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Are transducers fairly standardized?

Old 03-19-2007, 01:22 PM
  #1  
HBO
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Are transducers fairly standardized?

I am soon purchasing a black box for my Standard CPV-350 unit. The boat had an old Si-Tex CRT fishfinder hooked to a transom mount tri-ducer. It worked very well and even the sea temp was accurate. What are the chances I can still use the old 'ducer with the new standard blackbox? Be nice to save the $100.... ;?

Thanks!
Old 03-19-2007, 02:30 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 429
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Are transducers fairly standardized?

Your chances are small. Most manufactures use a different plug pattern. If the transducer itself is compatible with the new unit, you might be able to cut the plug off and splice in another one, or connect the bare wires directly to the unit.

Try to find out what brand of transducer you have first.
Old 03-19-2007, 07:55 PM
  #3  
MC
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: pompano Beach FL
Posts: 1,923
Received 146 Likes on 90 Posts
Default Re: Are transducers fairly standardized?

Probably not, especailly with the new digital fish finders. Standard Horizon now uses a transducer ID, which means that you will have to replace with the unit with one wired for Standard Horizon. A few years ago, you could get a plug adapter for most units, but not any more. Now if you are sticking with the same manufacture, then should not be a problem finding an adapter.

Give follow up with AIRMAR via their web site or phone call. They are pretty good at getting back with you.
Old 03-20-2007, 08:52 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 429
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Are transducers fairly standardized?

Is that how the transducer ID is being implemented? I thought it was so that the transducer could transmit it physical charactarisitcs to the sounder, and the sounder could use the data to modify settings to optimize performance.
Old 03-20-2007, 09:08 AM
  #5  
HBO
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Are transducers fairly standardized?

Thanks for all the opinions. I knew that the unit itself "detects" the specs of the ducer in some way.

Heck, probably not worth the hassle and for piece of mind, I'll just go ahead and order the proper one.

Thanks again!


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.