Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno GPS talking to a Navman 7100 VHF

Old 03-17-2007, 09:43 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Furuno GPS talking to a Navman 7100 VHF

Spent Half a day trying to get my GPS (furuno 1650) to talk to the Navman 7100 VHF radio.The radio keeps stating no single from the GPS.Now I did call Navman,they told me the Green wire is + input,Yellow is - input.The book states green- input and yellow +Input.Well,I tryed both ways with the same output.No GPS input.Of course I look into the furuno installation manual,no info as for as the NEMA wire output color code.
Navman told me the reading sentance is GLL which is turn on in the GPS.

Anyone have this same problem? ;? Any help?
Old 03-18-2007, 07:12 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Furuno GPS talking to a Navman 7100 VHF

I had email Furuno yesterday.Hope I get an answer tomorrow.Looks like nobody knows what furuno nema 0183 feeds are.
Old 03-18-2007, 08:10 AM
  #3  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Furuno GPS talking to a Navman 7100 VHF

furuno Nmea out + White
furuno Nmea out - Black

page 41 of this pdf document
http://www.furuno.com/Furuno/Doc/0/E...on%20Manul.pdf

Old 03-18-2007, 10:26 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Furuno GPS talking to a Navman 7100 VHF

Did you try the check sum on and check sum off settings in the navman's menu? I woulld assume the Furuno is going to have the appropriate checksums on the NmEA string, but try it both ways. According the the FAQ on Navman's website, the radios NMEA in + is yellow and - is green, buat as it should be isolated, trying it both ways shouldn't hurt anything.
Old 03-19-2007, 08:17 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Furuno GPS talking to a Navman 7100 VHF

Duct Tape,I been trying to use the Yellow+ and Green - as output.So Furuno out put is Black and white.Thanks,I will give that a try latter after work.DT,I did look at that diagram,so TD feeding out of nema port 1 should be output?
SeaSwiler,Navman input are as you stated.I don't see how one can go in the the navman 7100 radio.I was told that the radio reads GLL wich I did have on from the plotter,just not the right wires.Thanks to Duck Tape,I think I should have it reading.
Old 03-20-2007, 08:56 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Furuno GPS talking to a Navman 7100 VHF

Duct Tape - 3/18/2007 8:10 AM

furuno Nmea out + White
furuno Nmea out - Black

page 41 of this pdf document
http://www.furuno.com/Furuno/Doc/0/E...on%20Manul.pdf
Thanks DT,that was the trick.Took two mins to wire.Reading like a champ!Furuno never email me back.Second time asking them for help with no feedback on a question.Guess they just don't take the time for support.
So again,thanks DT.Now I will be installing a ST6002 autopilot.Any tricks or problems I should be looking at?
Old 03-20-2007, 09:51 AM
  #7  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Furuno GPS talking to a Navman 7100 VHF

cool, glad you got it working.

TD = Transmit Data
RD = Receive Data

usually furuno is pretty good at getting back to you, maybe it was a long weekend
Old 03-20-2007, 01:23 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Furuno GPS talking to a Navman 7100 VHF

TD/RD What was I thinking.Now only if I can get this autopilot going.Missing out on some good fishing days.Can't get down to the coast,I have a survey crew doing some work for me at this time and have to be around to answer questions.Wish they could answer some of mine.
Old 03-22-2007, 09:12 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Furuno GPS talking to a Navman 7100 VHF

Got an email back from Furuno today about my question.Glad I was not on a island asking for help.Posted the question last saturday.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.