Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

Old 03-16-2007, 03:11 PM
  #1  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
John_Madison CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Old Saybrook, CT
Posts: 14,470
Received 741 Likes on 402 Posts
Default Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

Ray won't really commit either way if the S1000 Autopilot would work on my boat. I guess it's on the upper end of the spectrum, but it seems some of you have larger boat and the S1000 works OK.

So, what do you guys think? As you can see in the pic below, the engine is on a bracket. The engine is a 250hp Yamaha.
Old 03-16-2007, 06:58 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,494
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

It was designed to work with certain Seastar rams, if you happen to fit the specification it should work. I have a 26' with twin F225's and it works great.
Team Ruby
Old 03-16-2007, 07:05 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,412
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

agreed..know 26-30's that it works fine...seems something that RM said just to make sure it did not cut into their big 6000 series sales to me....esp since you get a nebulous answer from tech support on if will work on bigger boats....(it does)
Old 03-16-2007, 07:33 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Portsmouth, RI 02871
Posts: 2,059
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

John... sorry we didn't hook up with the shrink wrap... the S1000 is a good unit
Old 03-17-2007, 08:15 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,561
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

Team Ruby - 3/16/2007 6:58 PM

It was designed to work with certain Seastar rams, if you happen to fit the specification it should work. I have a 26' with twin F225's and it works great.
Team Ruby
What type of boat do you have?
Tim
Old 03-17-2007, 09:39 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 717
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

If that's a Mod V parker, I'd say it's _likely_ to work well- the deep V I'd have some doubts...

It's a tough call. the ones I have installed (3) were all on 20-23 ft mod Vs, and worked spooky good- and I made a point, during seatrials to really put it through it's paces, as I do with any new product. A 25 Parker is a lot of hull to be pushing around on one motor ( I am not saying it doesn't perform well, I am talking in terms of steering responce) so I understand Raymarines hesitance in saying it will work...
Old 03-17-2007, 10:03 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 5,716
Received 387 Likes on 270 Posts
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

Team Ruby - 3/16/2007 7:58 PM It was designed to work with certain Seastar rams, if you happen to fit the specification it should work. I have a 26' with twin F225's and it works great. Team Ruby
Team Ruby,

Thanks for the input. I talked to a few techs and they said it wouldn't work. After some reasearch and heavy reading, I think it will work with my twin F225's and the Seastar HC5345 ram. Now to sell it to the admiral. [img]../images/emoticons/biggrin.gif[/img]
Old 03-17-2007, 07:36 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,494
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

Fishing FINattic - 3/17/2007 8:15 AM

Team Ruby - 3/16/2007 6:58 PM

It was designed to work with certain Seastar rams, if you happen to fit the specification it should work. I have a 26' with twin F225's and it works great.
Team Ruby
What type of boat do you have?
Tim
It's an '04 Sailfish 266 with twin Yamaha F225's. Prodigalson, I appreciate the comment about it's performance. Up in northeast Florida it is a long tedious ride to the stream, 50+ miles. The S1000 has taken the strain off of these long trips and I have been very impressed with it. I learned a lot recently from the mega autopilot thread that was around a few weeks ago. There are certainly some very sophisticated units out there, the S1000 has served my purpose well. It has performed well at high and slow speed.
Team Ruby
Old 03-20-2007, 03:23 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hollywood, Florida
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

Good Luck hooking it up!

Here is my previous post:

http://www.thehulltruth.com/forums/t...40949&posts=19
Old 04-07-2007, 10:26 PM
  #10  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
John_Madison CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Old Saybrook, CT
Posts: 14,470
Received 741 Likes on 402 Posts
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

Guys: I have a Teleflex HH5271 helm. Will the S1000 work with this?
Old 04-09-2007, 09:38 AM
  #11  
MC
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: pompano Beach FL
Posts: 1,917
Received 146 Likes on 90 Posts
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

John_Madison CT - 4/7/2007 9:26 PM

Guys: I have a Teleflex HH5271 helm. Will the S1000 work with this?
It's not the helm that you need to worry about, it's the steering ram/cylinder's capacity that need to be the correct size I believe.
Old 04-10-2007, 10:07 PM
  #12  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

The S1000 is designed to work with hyd systems that have 8.5 cu inches of ram capacity or less. It could work on bigger boats, but you will be taxing the pump and could experience a sortened lifespan for the sytem components.
Old 04-10-2007, 11:03 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gulf of Mexico,Louisiana
Posts: 6,289
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

PIBtopher - 4/10/2007 10:07 PM

The S1000 is designed to work with hyd systems that have 8.5 cu inches of ram capacity or less. It could work on bigger boats, but you will be taxing the pump and could experience a sortened lifespan for the sytem components.
Or just install the S2 hyd pump. Few bucks more.I installed a S1000 core with a ST 6002 control head.My boat is 28' with twin 225 optimaxes.Still haven't tryed it out.Just got the linear feedback tube.Hope to have it install friday and put it to work too!All I am looking for it to do is take the long rides out on the wheel.Nothing more,nothing less.
Old 04-11-2007, 06:39 AM
  #14  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

Hi John, I'm a Marine electronics tech and I put one of these units in my 5.6 Mtr plate boat. I had heaps of problems initially but NO thanks to Raymarine I sorted the problems out. I did a non standard install whereby I put the pump down at the stern of the boat (I knew that the pump was going to be a noisy bastard!) and I was hooking the pump up to a Australian helm system (Hydrive), and if all this was not enough I was driving the system from a Garmin 182C plotter. Like a fool I sent some emails to Raymarine re some problems that I had and sure enough I got some ridicioulous emails back from raymarine. Anyway all thats under the bridge. The unit performs brilliantly and I wouldn't do without a autopilot again. I'd hate to see what a non technical person would do !!!!!

Robin

Old 04-11-2007, 07:10 AM
  #15  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
John_Madison CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Old Saybrook, CT
Posts: 14,470
Received 741 Likes on 402 Posts
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

Thanks guys. I'll check the steering ram today. I bet it's like most teleflex hydraulic rams you see on most boats, but I'll get the specs nonetheless.
Old 04-11-2007, 06:36 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lexington S.C. / OIB N.C.
Posts: 1,107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Ray S1000 Autopilot on my 25' Parker?

It sure worked well on my 23 Hydra Sport. The install took me 4 hrs. on a Saturday.If I don' t get this AP11 fixed on the new Grady I will be putting a S1000 on it.{at least I know what I am working on}.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.