Notices

Thom - VHF to GPS

Old 01-13-2003, 10:43 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location:
Posts: 1,090
Default Thom - VHF to GPS

Thom,

I need to connect my Standard Horizon Intrepid Plus to my Garmin 182C. On the Standard VHF, the NMEA IN + is blue and the NMEA IN - is green. What wires do I connect these to from the GPS?

And any handy connection tips? Any tips for an easy way of running wires down/up a T-Top leg?
TidesHHI is offline  
Old 01-13-2003, 01:33 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Thom - VHF to GPS

Tides,

Nice clean simple hookup in this case. Connect the Standard's Blue Wire to the Garmin's Blue wire. Then connect the Standard's green wire to your battery ground (buss bar or whatever it is you're using). I usually like to connect the data input negative wire (your Standard's green wire) directly to the same point at which the Garmin's power ground is hooked into the system, and you may want to do it that way as well. Once you get the wires hooked up go into the Setup in the Garmin and go to the Interface tab. Its default setting is 'Garmin' and you need to change that to what ever looks like 'NMEA' or 'NMEA In/NMEA Out' Different Garmin models use slightly different wording for it, but it will definitly say NMEA. Do that and it should work just fine for you.

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 01-13-2003, 02:05 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location:
Posts: 1,090
Default Thom - VHF to GPS

Simple enough.

Do you have any tips for running wires through a T-Top leg?
TidesHHI is offline  
Old 01-13-2003, 02:48 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Thom - VHF to GPS

quote:Originally posted by TidesHHI:
Simple enough.

Do you have any tips for running wires through a T-Top leg?

Yep, make sure ya don't tickle it's balls with the wires!!

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 01-13-2003, 04:54 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default Thom - VHF to GPS

LOL!!!

If you have a stong enough vacuum, you can pull a light fishing line (5 - 7lbs) through.

When ever it stops feeding, and you havent made it to the exit hole yet, pull it back out and let it go in again, its hanging on a lip in there.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 01-13-2003, 06:56 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Lure, NC,USA
Posts: 472
Default Thom - VHF to GPS

Another tip I saw was to tie a steel nut to a string, then use a magnet outside to work it down.

Scout 202 SF Yamaha F200
Capt Ahab is offline  
Old 01-14-2003, 02:25 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 2,510
Default Thom - VHF to GPS

Another trick for feeding wires through tubing, such as a T-Top...

Use compressed air and a piece of yarn. Feed the yarn in and compressed air will direct it to the nearest exit - preferably the hole you want.

Tie mono to the yarn, and pull it through, then tie wire to the mono and pull it through.

Don't forget chafe protection, such as a plastic or rubber grommet or something!
tidester is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread