Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

C120 Keeps Restarting

Old 02-10-2007, 07:43 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C120 Keeps Restarting

Hi, I have both C120 on the bridge and a C80 on the lower helm.
The C80, no problems at all, works perfectly.

The C120 keeps restarting at any time and often, both at rest with no engine running, but with other items used, such as frig, freezer, deckwash etc, and also restarting at other random times while the motor (diesel) is running.

The system has been checked by the installation electrician and who says it is OK.

The local Raymarine agent has checked the unit which was passed as OK while loaning me a unit, which also restarted, pointing to a wiring or voltage spike or .......

The other Raymarine units installed are, Autopilot-ST6001, 2-VHF radios, DSM-300

The power supply is from a large House battery supply.

Any help from anyone who has encountered an associated problem would be helpful to say the least.

Regards, Rob.
Old 02-10-2007, 08:07 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGERPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Struggleville
Posts: 7,547
Likes: 0
Received 92 Likes on 61 Posts
Default Re: C120 Keeps Restarting

It's the power supply cord. They are junk. I wish they would make a way to direct wire them. If you bend that power supply cord right where it plugs into the back of the unit, it will crap out. Don't ask me how I know.
Old 02-10-2007, 08:08 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 811
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: C120 Keeps Restarting

Possibly an intermittent voltage drop??? What's the length of the cable and size to the unit from the house battery. Not straight line distance either, length of cable. Is there anything else on this cable besides the C120?
Old 02-10-2007, 09:21 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: C120 Keeps Restarting

Thanks Jim, the power supply from the battery to the switch/distribution board is huge, a (a 200 amp cable), from there to a breaker, then to the unit approx 25 ft by a route under floor and around the side of the hull to the bridge.

Thanks Bugbuster, Jim, I think my next move may be to buy a new cable and run it directly from the unit through the hatch to the main power supply temporarily, and try it, then if thats OK rerun it through the hull spaces to the bridge.

It sounds like a voltage drop/power supply problem alright, but I thought with the great minds available on here someone may have a lead to the problem.

I will try the new cable and let you know how I go.

Regards, Rob.

Old 02-10-2007, 09:25 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: C120 Keeps Restarting

Three things come to mind. Voltage drop, voltage drop and voltage drop.

Either your battery is not being able to maintain its voltage while supplying a load(s), or more likely there is excessive electrical resistance in your wiriing (undersized wires or corrosion inside). Make sure that all of your electrical connections are clean and tight and that wiring to all devices is properly sized and in good working condition. This includes both the power and ground circuits.

If you need some test procedures just ask. There are plenty here who can help.
Old 02-10-2007, 11:31 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,406
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: C120 Keeps Restarting

Bugbuster has it right....RM had a batch of plugs that were not made right and they suffered intermittent power cuts.

Harry
Old 02-10-2007, 12:49 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 811
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: C120 Keeps Restarting

Robbo - 2/10/2007 9:21 AM Thanks Jim, the power supply from the battery to the switch/distribution board is huge, a (a 200 amp cable), from there to a breaker, then to the unit approx 25 ft by a route under floor and around the side of the hull to the bridge. Thanks Bugbuster, Jim, I think my next move may be to buy a new cable and run it directly from the unit through the hatch to the main power supply temporarily, and try it, then if thats OK rerun it through the hull spaces to the bridge. It sounds like a voltage drop/power supply problem alright, but I thought with the great minds available on here someone may have a lead to the problem. I will try the new cable and let you know how I go. Regards, Rob.
Cable size is measured by gauge (ie #12,#6, #2or #1/0) not in amps and will most likely have an "AWG" behind the number which stands for American Wire Gauge.Load anddistance determine the size cableand the longer the distance the larger the cable needs to be to supply sufficient voltage to the end equipment at a given load. Electronics are more susceptible to voltage drop than say lights or a motor. Distance is measured from the battery, to the unit and back so you basically double the distance and both the positive and negative cables need to be sized for this load or you'll still have voltage drop.

It sounds like there's a known Raymarine cable issue that's probably the culprit but based on ABYCa10A load would require a #6 wire for the 25' distance, which equals 50' round trip to the battery. When you had the temporary unit from the dealer and it had the same problem did you use the same Raymarine power cord to the back of the unit or was that switched out also?
Old 02-10-2007, 01:41 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: C120 Keeps Restarting

Yes Jim, it was in exactly the same situation, bolted into the mounting bracket on the bridge, using the same cables etc.
Old 02-11-2007, 12:00 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 212
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: C120 Keeps Restarting

Robbo,

Last season we had 4 Ray A65 and 1 Ray E120 doing the same thing. The units would restart and random intervals. These units were on a variety of boats. In each case we had to update the software on the units. This eliminated the problem every time. Raymarine is getting like Microsoft in that they issue software updates a few times a year. Performing the update is easy. You log onto the Raymarine site and download the update package to a memory card. Then insert the card into the Raymarine unit and power it up. The unit will perform the update automatically.

Old 02-11-2007, 12:51 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: C120 Keeps Restarting

Thanks macyacht, I did the software update last year when it was released, it was also reinstalled by the local dealer lately.

I am going to try a new cable as soon as the dealer opens and I can get to fitting it on a temporary basis.

I will let you know the outcome.

Regards, Rob.
Old 02-12-2007, 10:25 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 811
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: C120 Keeps Restarting

Here's an interesting tip from a similar thread that may apply to you...

Doublehook - 2/12/2007 6:47 AM I had the same problem with my dms . Tried every thing more batts. bigger wire , checked all connections, then one day a raymarine tech told me that some of the connector plugs were over molded ( to much rubber at the ends ) he said to take a razor blade and cut approx. 1/32 of a inch off the end of the plug, i did this and have never had the problem since !
Good luck and let us know what worked.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.