Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

re-install a loran or sell it?

Old 02-09-2007, 07:29 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 372
Received 263 Likes on 190 Posts
Default re-install a loran or sell it?

I am re-rigging the t-top on my new to me boat after having some upgrades done to it. The boat came with a Si-Tex EZ 97 loran with coupler and a Digital antenna. I have very few numbers for the loran and do not anticipate using it much, if at all.

Can anyone think of a good reason to re-install the loran or should I just sell it on eBay. If I sell it what should I set the reserve at, what's this thing worth? Thanks.
Old 02-09-2007, 08:10 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 211
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: re-install a loran or sell it?

I would reinstall it. It is a reliable backup to gps that is not subject to goverment jamming.
Old 02-09-2007, 08:22 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 372
Received 263 Likes on 190 Posts
Default RE: re-install a loran or sell it?

I was kinda leaning that way for that reason. So I guess every time I fish one of my numbers or find a new number I should save them in both units.
Old 02-09-2007, 09:45 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kinston,NC
Posts: 778
Likes: 0
Received 36 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Re: re-install a loran or sell it?

I use Loran and would suggest putting it back on.
Old 02-09-2007, 11:12 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: re-install a loran or sell it?

If I thought I could get $10 for it I'd sell it, otherwise it would hit the trash can as fast as I could get it there. I say that as I guy who has owned his fair share of LORANs but wouldn't have another one if they were giving away free bags of chocolate-chip cookies with every one that went out the door. However, if you do decide to keep it, you might want to continue the ultimate quest for a dedicated LORAN user - that is to successfully interface it with a Commadore-64 Computer and finally find a way to successfully record waypoints on 7-inch-floppys.

Trash it or put it up for sale on E-Bay with a $1 starting price and cheap shipping. Someone might spring for it.

Thom
Old 02-09-2007, 11:19 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fort Myers Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 3,738
Received 654 Likes on 407 Posts
Default RE: re-install a loran or sell it?

Great to see you back, Thom.

Now stop pussy-footin' around, and tell us how you really feel about that LORAN...[img]../jscripts/tiny_mce/plugins/emotions/images/smiley-cool.gif[/img]

Brian
Old 02-10-2007, 09:33 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: re-install a loran or sell it?

If I had a set of bias ply tires, or some automobile carburetors, or some buggy whips, or a sextant, or a slide rule, and I thought I could sell them they would be gone in a heartbeat.

LORAN is in the past. Come join us in the 21st century.

Yes, others may and probably will disagree.

Oh, I have some Delta Air Lines stock. Anyone think I should be holding onto that as well? It will soon be worthless, just like LORAN, OMEGA C, VOR's, the A/N ranging system, ADF, etc, etc.
Old 02-10-2007, 08:44 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Posts: 992
Received 125 Likes on 70 Posts
Default Re: re-install a loran or sell it?

I say reinstall it. I'm currently upgrading my GPS/FF and will probably reinstall my Loran/FF as a back-up. It works so why not keep it? I don't think the gov't will be shutting down the system. Good luck.
Old 02-11-2007, 01:33 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nantucket MA
Posts: 479
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: re-install a loran or sell it?

repeatable accuracy.. LORAN great performers.. took my 800x off the boat, sold it on ebay for about 300 bucks.. then had my gps antenna take a dump this summer 40 mile out in the fog... go figure.....if its a space thing (mine was) then sell it and get another sort of backup.. or leave the wires and antenna there and store the head in the boat for a backup
Old 02-11-2007, 03:28 AM
  #10  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: re-install a loran or sell it?

the last couple of boats i have worked on have had loran as a backup. it seems to be making a bit of a comeback.
Old 02-11-2007, 07:03 AM
  #11  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 95
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: re-install a loran or sell it?

If you want to sell it I'd be interested if the price is right.
Old 02-11-2007, 08:21 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: FL/NC
Posts: 297
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: re-install a loran or sell it?

beach_trade - 2/9/2007 8:22 PM

I was kinda leaning that way for that reason. So I guess every time I fish one of my numbers or find a new number I should save them in both units.
If you have any readings that are Loran C navigate to the spots using the Loran TD's and then write down the GPS coordinates from the GPS.
Don't use the Loran to convert the TD's to Lat/Lon numbers as the mathematical logorithms they use do not produce as accurate a fix as the GPS.
Otherwise use your GPS as the primary for any exsisting and new spots you may find and the Loran as a backup.

It's too bad you don't have a wheel as you could post it in the classified section of this site and give the THT members first crack at it if you decide to sell it.
I'll buy it.
Old 02-11-2007, 10:31 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 372
Received 263 Likes on 190 Posts
Default RE: re-install a loran or sell it?

Well I have decided to reinstall the loran as a backup to my gps. I have the space and who knows, maybe I'll run across some good numbers in the future that I'll be able to convert.

Thanks for all the input and the chuckles, some funny stuff there.
Old 02-11-2007, 12:42 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 1,640
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: re-install a loran or sell it?

Funny stuff. I love the one about interfacing with the commodore 64!
Old 02-11-2007, 06:50 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,642
Received 92 Likes on 68 Posts
Default Re: re-install a loran or sell it?

dougl33 - 2/12/2007 4:42 AM

Funny stuff. I love the one about interfacing with the commodore 64!
Yeah but then Thom isn't far off the real world. A fairly good description if you ask me

Regards, Kerry.
Old 02-12-2007, 04:46 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Noank, CT
Posts: 733
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: re-install a loran or sell it?

beach_trade - 2/11/2007 11:31 AM

Well I have decided to reinstall the loran as a backup to my gps. I have the space and who knows, maybe I'll run across some good numbers in the future that I'll be able to convert.

Thanks for all the input and the chuckles, some funny stuff there.
I think you made the right decision.......I kept my Northstar as a backup to my 3010 when I did a wholesale electronics retrofit last year. Can't go wrong with adding diversity to redundancy....

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.