Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Electonic connection questions

Old 02-09-2007, 11:25 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 429
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electonic connection questions

I'm starting to think about how to provide power for a new GPS / sounder install and need some advice. It's going to be a new Garmin unit so obviously I don't have the detailed connection specs. But I want to make sure I can provide the appropriate reliable power supply and I'm not the most knowledgable when it comes to battery configurations.

The current setup is two batteries controlled by a 1-2-both-off switch. All systems can run on either battery (engine, pumps, electronics, lights, etc.). Under the dash is a fused connection buss for various items such as the ingition, blower, trim tabs, VHF, lights, etc. It has a spot designated for a chart plotter and as well as a couple empties. This buss connects back to to the main DC distribution panel.

I've learned from THT that is can be a good idea to install a separate battery just for electonics to prevent engine-related surges and drops. But since the original design did not segment out the electonics section, I have don't know how I would go about putting in a 3rd battery and moving all the electronics connections over.

My questions are these: Should I just take power off this under-dash buss? Will one power lead be sufficient for both a Garmin display and the GSD-22 sounder? Would it be advisable to run a lead directly back to one of the batteries? (not be preferred option - I like being able to turn a switch and BE SURE all the power systems are off). How difficult is
is to put in a 3rd battery that is on a separate bank, and move connections over to it?

Brad

Old 02-09-2007, 02:03 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: deerpark ny
Posts: 315
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Electonic connection questions

is it a singe engine boat? If so two batteries are fine use one for the engine and one for the house or electronics, if you have a yamaha with an aux charge lead that motor will charge both batteries. If not use a combiner and it will take care of the charging for you. Also bep marine sells a complete setup with switches and combiners for a single engine two battery setup that will help with the instal
Old 02-09-2007, 02:46 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 429
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Electonic connection questions

Yes, single engine Mecruiser I/O. Would those comments still apply?
Old 02-09-2007, 02:59 PM
  #4  
MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Electonic connection questions

Take the power from the under the dash buss. It will be fine. Typically the electronics have a wide voltage range and have internal voltage regulators that will deal with any voltage fluctuations. Your engine alternator/voltage regulator will maintain a sufficiently stable level for your electronics to work fine. Should you need to use wire other than that provided by chart plotter manufacturer be sure it is marine grade wire that is tin plated. In addition be sure to use the proper size crimp fitting for the wire size you will be attaching to your buss bar. I have the same set up and alternate between batteries one and two. All of my electronics is attached to the buss bar under the dash and I run a radar, chart plotter, autopilot, depth sounder and vhf marine radio with no problems. My engine is able to provide sufficient power to maintain sufficient voltage to keep all the electronics running and the selected battery charged.
Old 02-12-2007, 10:16 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 429
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Electonic connection questions

That's the answer I was hoping for but was afraid was not goint to be realistic. All things equal I want to keep things simple and adding a separate electroncs circuit with a dedicated battery isn't simple. I'll just make sure that I use good wire of sufficient size. My plan is to take the power off the buss and run it into a junction box where all the plotter data and power connections will be made.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.