Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

furuno gp-35

Old 02-07-2007, 08:34 AM
  #1  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default furuno gp-35

i have a furuno gp- 35 black and white, its probably a 97-98 model, i have no antenna, it went with the boat i sold, can an antenna be bought for this old unit, is it worth looking for one, ebay does not have one except one with a cut wire, was told to stay away from that. i was thinking that this unit could be used as loran, can anyone give me info on this unit, i have never used it and it was working when i sold the boat. friend of mine still uses the loran and have some great numbers. thanks
Old 02-07-2007, 11:56 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,095
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: furuno gp-35

I would think you can easily get an antenna from Furuno. I have a GP 31 and although it is not full of features or charts, it's a good little unit and I think it would be worth getting an antenna and using it for what you stated.

Glenn
Old 02-07-2007, 12:57 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Not in Texas
Posts: 10,213
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: furuno gp-35

The GP35 was not a cheap unit. It is GPS + DGPS.

The antenna that was included with the GP35 was the Furuno GPA018 GPS/DGPS antenna (MSRP $150). It can be had on Ebay for about $140, brand new. The current GPS/DGPS antenna is the GPA019. It also includes WAAS-GPS reception. Don’t know if it will work on the GP35, but I suspect it probably will. You would have to ask Furuno. Or maybe not, the MSRP on the GPA019 is $275!

To find info and manuals for your GP35 on the Furuno.com website:

Click on [Enter US web site]

On the top bar/menu, click on [Products]

Second to the bottom, click on [Previous Products]

Third one down, click on [Navigation]

Second one down, click on [GPS / DGPS]

Third one down, click on [GP35]



Edit: if you just want vanilla GPS, no DGPS, I believe the GPA017 mushroom will work for you. It is the antenna originally included with the GP30, identical to the GP35 but without the DGPS processing.

Something else to think about; I believe Furuno does the WAAS processing for their GPS units inside of the mushroom antenna. Depending on the conductors and connections, you may be able to get WAAS-GPS accuracy with your GP35 unit with the GPA019 antenna. You should call Furuno’s support and inquire about your antenna options. Please post back here and let us know what they say.

Good luck!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.