Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

"No Fix" GPS question

Old 02-04-2007, 12:34 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 93
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "No Fix" GPS question

I just bought a used 31' boat that I had to have transported to my location. I water tested the boat before the boat was loaded onto the trailer. There is a Raymarine RL80C radar/chart plotter combo on board. The GPS was functioning and finding the position when the boat came out of the water. The boat is now in a local boatyard receiving bottom paint. I installed a new C Map card for my location and noticed that the GPS wouldn't lock on and give the position. The message states "No Fix". The new C Map is functioning OK. The GPS is on a ratcheting antenna base and was tilted down for transportation and has been raised back to the vertical position.

Any ideas on what to look for to correct this?
Old 02-04-2007, 01:08 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 105
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: "No Fix" GPS question

Check the connection on the antenna. Moving it up and down may have disturbed it. Look for the little green lite on the bottom of the antenna. I believe if its a Ray 125 or 120 it should have that light. If not there is no power to the antenna and that may be the cable connection where it enters the antenna, or the extension but usually its a connect issue. Good luck
Old 02-04-2007, 01:25 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North East
Posts: 5,938
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

If you moved the boat a great distance it may take as long as 15 minutes for the GPS to get a fix in the new location. Leave it on and see if it fixes the situation.
Old 02-04-2007, 02:12 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chatham Mass
Posts: 588
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

If you have the ray without the light on it they were a problem, Email Raymarine, send in the old one and $100 and they will send you the new 125. I had the same problem as did many others.
Old 02-04-2007, 09:19 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: St Joe Bay / Lake Talquin
Posts: 2,573
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

Try unhooking the power to the unit, I have one that does this from time to time and switch the power off and wait 10 sec and all is well after that. Good luck
Old 02-04-2007, 10:10 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent Narrows, MD
Posts: 7,146
Received 774 Likes on 366 Posts
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

fldmax may have the short-term solution

goodnyou has the long-term solution


The old model is the RS120. The new model is the RS125

Old 02-05-2007, 11:21 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

one other simple check somehwat brushed upon. The RL80C doesn't power seatalk, so there is a chance that the sensor might be wired to a seperate switch/breaker than the RL80. find the little white box about the size of a pack of cigarrettes that will say raytheon or raymarine on it, that is where you need to check to see if the antenna is getting any juice, should be getting 12vdc on terminals 1 and 2 in the box (I think ground is one and hot is 2, but I may have them reversed)
Old 02-05-2007, 12:59 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lake Murray, SC
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

Might be dumb question, but is the boat indoors or out? Mine will not get a fix inside the metal building I use. Just a thought.
Old 02-05-2007, 02:06 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent Narrows, MD
Posts: 7,146
Received 774 Likes on 366 Posts
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

SeaSwirler23 - 2/5/2007 11:21 AM

one other simple check somehwat brushed upon. The RL80C doesn't power seatalk, so there is a chance that the sensor might be wired to a seperate switch/breaker than the RL80. find the little white box about the size of a pack of cigarrettes that will say raytheon or raymarine on it, that is where you need to check to see if the antenna is getting any juice, should be getting 12vdc on terminals 1 and 2 in the box (I think ground is one and hot is 2, but I may have them reversed)


Old 02-06-2007, 10:09 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chatham Mass
Posts: 588
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

Unhooking the power(Pulling the fuse) would get mine to reset. Not exactly what you want to do 30 miles offshore. The new one has never had an issue. Spend the c-note.
Old 02-07-2007, 09:15 AM
  #11  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Port O' Connor, Texas
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

DAWG - 2/5/2007 11:59 AM

Might be dumb question, but is the boat indoors or out? Mine will not get a fix inside the metal building I use. Just a thought.
That was my first thought!
Old 02-21-2007, 11:15 PM
  #12  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 93
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

Not inside a building but directly beside a metal building in the boatyard. The building is south of the boat and may be blocking the view to the sattelite. I'll be launching later this week and will try again. The power has been disconnected so it may reset itself. I'll check some of the other suggestions if I continue to have problems.
Old 02-21-2007, 11:27 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 3,995
Likes: 0
Received 49 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

The complete diagnostic FAQ for the RS125 can be accessed by clicking on the following URL: http://raymarine.custhelp.com/cgi-bi...p?p_faqid=1269.
Old 02-22-2007, 08:24 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: LBI, NJ
Posts: 934
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

If you turn of the power to the unit, then start it back up, it will most likely work. That is a pain. Get the RS125 and never worry again.
Old 02-22-2007, 11:25 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hemet, CA
Posts: 1,044
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

I use GPS in land surveying work - I don't know about your unit, but I have had occasion where, if the GPS unit had all power removed for any length of time, the built-in battery will loose it's charge and the "seed" lat/long will be lost from memory. The built-in battery will charge up immediately upon being powered up again, but if the GPS can't remember it's initialization "seed" lat/long - OR if is repowered more than 50-100 miles away from it's last, usable, 'fix' it might require a re-'seed' at it's new starting location. Check your manual.

NJM
Old 02-22-2007, 07:16 PM
  #16  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 82
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: "No Fix" GPS question

If you have auto pilot, disconnect the leads to it and see if you have a fix.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.