Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

furuno black box

Old 02-03-2007, 09:45 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: stafford,va
Posts: 418
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default furuno black box

I am looking for monitor sources for the furuno navnet2 black box.
Old 02-03-2007, 10:28 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 1,338
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: furuno black box

VEI is good but very expensive. MarinePM.COM makes a good one that is somewhat reasonable.
Old 02-03-2007, 12:07 PM
  #3  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: furuno black box

go with the furuno stand alone monitors if you can afford it. the reliabilty, ease of installation, and ease of use, are second to none in my opinion. they come in 12, 15, 17, 20, and 23 inch sizes.

http://www.furuno.com/Furuno/Rooms/D....entity.Entity[OID[83E13B2836414043AAD3370072F2629E]]


here is the 12" http://www.byownerelectronics.com/st...at=1223&page=1
Old 02-03-2007, 04:05 PM
  #4  
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: furuno black box

VEI makes the best displays on the market, but they are a lot of money. I suggest the new Simrad LCD's or the Furuno screens.
Old 02-03-2007, 05:12 PM
  #5  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: furuno black box

ive installed tons of vei displays, many furunos, and a couple simrads. if i had my choice of any monitor on the market, i would go with furuno in a heartbeat.

vei has a great picture and are probably the brightest monitors on the market, but you need to push 3 buttons to change an input, that and the wiring is much more complicated than it needs to be. they use a seperate video switcher if you require more than 1 vga or composite input.

furuno, you push 1 button to switch inputs and all the connections for your video are right on the monitor itself, very easy to deal with.
Old 02-03-2007, 05:24 PM
  #6  
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: furuno black box

Duct Tape - 2/3/2007 5:12 PM

ive installed tons of vei displays, many furunos, and a couple simrads. if i had my choice of any monitor on the market, i would go with furuno in a heartbeat.

vei has a great picture and are probably the brightest monitors on the market, but you need to push 3 buttons to change an input, that and the wiring is much more complicated than it needs to be. they use a seperate video switcher if you require more than 1 vga or composite input.

furuno, you push 1 button to switch inputs and all the connections for your video are right on the monitor itself, very easy to deal with.
How does Furuno compare to Simrad? I saw the Simrads at the NY show and they were very impressive.
Old 02-03-2007, 08:43 PM
  #7  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: furuno black box

i cant really give you an honest answer, i have only done 1 boat with simrad monitors. i dont remember having any issues with them, and from what i remember the picture quality was good. i'm sure we will do some more in the future, i'll be sure to play with them more next time, and i'll let ya know.
Old 02-04-2007, 10:39 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: stafford,va
Posts: 418
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: furuno black box

Thanks for all the advice. The reason I was looking for a stand alone monitor is because of space. I can not fit the 10.4 furuno in the space I have. I want to put a 6 or 10kw open array radar on the boat and by looking at the furuno website you can only do this with the 10.4. It is not available in 7 inch.
Old 02-04-2007, 11:27 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,220
Likes: 0
Received 299 Likes on 170 Posts
Default Re: furuno black box

dubb - 2/4/2007 11:39 AMThanks for all the advice. The reason I was looking for a stand alone monitor is because of space. I can not fit the 10.4 furuno in the space I have. I want to put a 6 or 10kw open array radar on the boat and by looking at the furuno website you can only do this with the 10.4. It is not available in 7 inch.
The combination of a 12" standalone monitor (smallest size) and the control panel for the Furuno black box takes up quite a bit more room than a 10.4" integrated display unit. Where did you plan to put the controls? It won't be very satisfactory unless it is quite close to the display. Better check all the dimensions carefully. Also it would be a shame to get a high resolution radar like the big open arrays and not have a large screen to display to image. Makes it kind of pointless actually.
Old 02-04-2007, 05:31 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 158
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: furuno black box

Argonaut makes the cheapest stand alone monitor, but I don't know how good they are.
Old 02-04-2007, 07:53 PM
  #11  
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: furuno black box

redneckromper - 2/4/2007 5:31 PM

Argonaut makes the cheapest stand alone monitor, but I don't know how good they are.
You get what you pay for

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.