Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

installing a shoot thru transducer

Old 02-01-2007, 02:29 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,412
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
Default installing a shoot thru transducer

Recently I found a problem with my transom mount TD and FF function. Turned out to be a connection at the black box so now it works very well. While havng all this apart, I decided after Jim Z's guidance to install a shoot thru. I did not want to spend loads of money as I am not a wreck or bottom fish type guy. I chose the P79 from airmar and could not be happier with the picture it creates. It is one notch above the transom mount. Installation is super simple.

After roughing up an area the is solid glass in the bilge, acetone the area clean, mount tte base so that the barrel tube is a level as possible, cross ways. Pick a spot that has clean water, i.e not behind a thru hull, bonding strip, etc. Silicone it down in position, running a bead in and outside of the barrel. Clean up the excess with acetone.


Then simply fill the barrel with 2.4 ounces of non-tox antifreeze. They also suggest mineral oil but some feel that min oil eats silicone. Adjust the TD to your deadrise in degrees and click it on.

that's it - fish the TD wire up to the FF and it works. The TD had a 4 degree variance to work so it does not have to be exact match of deadrise to TD.....

Here's the link for the TD:

http://www.airmartechnology.com/airm...=All&PageNo=99

I'm sure there a few things I did wrong but the picture at all speeds is perfect so good enuf for me...
Old 02-01-2007, 03:02 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberPLEDGERCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Delray Beach/Davie
Posts: 2,195
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default RE: installing a shoot thru transducer

I always enjoy reading about your DIY projects, Glen.

My guess is you're looking to start deep dropping around here (the tilefish pulled up from 770 ft. are quite tasty).

Keep us posted on how it reads bottom at speed.
Old 02-01-2007, 03:25 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 811
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: installing a shoot thru transducer

Nice install Glen E. Didn't realize I was an influence. Might have to work that to my advantage some day... [img]../images/emoticons/smile.gif[/img]
Old 02-01-2007, 03:27 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,739
Received 493 Likes on 326 Posts
Default RE: installing a shoot thru transducer

Nice pics ....... great overview.
Old 02-01-2007, 03:40 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 609
Received 36 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Re: installing a shoot thru transducer

Great pics Glen. I just installed the same transducer on a 366 Intrepid I just bought. I Will not be able to test mine as the boat is on the trailer headed to Marathon so I hope it works as well as yours did. I too was pleasantly surprised at how easy the install was. ABought kicked my butt snaking the cable up the hardtop pipe and into the elec box but can't wait till next week to try it out. Thanks again for the pics....Ben
Old 02-02-2007, 09:54 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Likes: 0
Received 29 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: installing a shoot thru transducer

I've installed two of these and in both cases they worked very well. I wouldn't even consider another "glue on" transducer.
Old 02-02-2007, 12:53 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent Narrows, MD
Posts: 7,144
Received 774 Likes on 366 Posts
Default Re: installing a shoot thru transducer

Both the in-hull & transom are 600 watts. Why do you think the in-hull out-performs the the transom mount ?

Old 02-02-2007, 01:00 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North East
Posts: 5,938
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: installing a shoot thru transducer

Good job Glen. I prefer the anti freeze here in the N. East for one simple reason: Place a small amount of mineral oil and anti freeze in your freezer and see what happens. The mineral oil will nearly gel up. Not a good thing for my friends who fish well into December in these parts.
Old 02-02-2007, 02:55 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 429
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: installing a shoot thru transducer

Elusive - 2/2/2007 12:53 PM

Both the in-hull & transom are 600 watts. Why do you think the in-hull out-performs the the transom mount ?
The transom mount has to deal with turbulence created by the hull, the prop, and even the transducer itself.

The in-hull has the benefit of more consistantly smoother water - assuming it is not mounted behind a hull step or water intake. In-hull units are also specifically tuned to be more sensitive to compensate for the thickness of the hull. If the actual hull thickness is less than what the unit is rated for, the result is an increase in real-world performance.

Brad
Old 02-02-2007, 03:19 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 811
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: installing a shoot thru transducer

b_arrington - 2/2/2007 2:55 PM
Elusive - 2/2/2007 12:53 PM Both the in-hull & transom are 600 watts. Why do you think the in-hull out-performs the the transom mount ?
The transom mount has to deal with turbulence created by the hull, the prop, and even the transducer itself. The in-hull has the benefit of more consistantly smoother water - assuming it is not mounted behind a hull step or water intake. In-hull units are also specifically tuned to be more sensitive to compensate for the thickness of the hull. If the actual hull thickness is less than what the unit is rated for, the result is an increase in real-world performance. Brad
In addition to this the number and quantity of the ceramic elements play a significant factor in the overall performance. The transom mount may have two elements, one rated for 50 and one rated for 200kHz where the shoot-thru hull may have multiple for each frequency,which would add to the quality of the picture.
Old 02-02-2007, 05:02 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 182
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: installing a shoot thru transducer

I have the same transducer, but used mineral oil in mine. It reads non-stop, no matter the sea conditions or speed. I don't need to be able to see an individual pinfish on the bottom, so it works for me.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.