Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

1040xs Lost Transducer Connectivity?

Old 02-13-2021, 03:08 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: The Big Bend, FL
Posts: 555
Received 121 Likes on 76 Posts
Default 1040xs Lost Transducer Connectivity?

I sold my boat and kept my chartplotter/ sonar and bought a new transducer. Now the unit isn't recognizing the sonar at all. Before I installed the transducer, I did test it to make sure that it connected and read depth. The ducer is a GT-23M 8pin

Is my head unit bad? Is there some other programming / reset process I am missing? I dont want to plunk down the grand+ for a new unit.

Last edited by Srbenda; 02-13-2021 at 03:53 PM.
Old 02-13-2021, 04:28 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,738
Likes: 0
Received 1,677 Likes on 913 Posts
Default

Is your software updated?
Old 02-13-2021, 05:13 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If you connected the new transducer before you installed it and it worked, then installed and ran wire now it doesn't work. I would suspect wire was damaged or pulled to tight during install. If sonar tab does not show at all it means the 1040xs does not see a transducer is connected. Garmin uses the thermistor resistance to tell the connected sonar module there is in fact a transducer connected and is safe to Tx. I doubt you can return transducer since it is installed. I would try new $200 transducer before going on the hunt for a new mfd. I have a used 1040xs if it comes to that. Good luck.
Old 02-13-2021, 05:34 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: The Big Bend, FL
Posts: 555
Received 121 Likes on 76 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by supertech77 View Post
If you connected the new transducer before you installed it and it worked, then installed and ran wire now it doesn't work. I would suspect wire was damaged or pulled to tight during install. If sonar tab does not show at all it means the 1040xs does not see a transducer is connected. Garmin uses the thermistor resistance to tell the connected sonar module there is in fact a transducer connected and is safe to Tx. I doubt you can return transducer since it is installed. I would try new $200 transducer before going on the hunt for a new mfd. I have a used 1040xs if it comes to that. Good luck.
I've tried 2 ducers and it reads neither.

What does the software update do? This is an older unit with older transducers.

Old 02-14-2021, 03:49 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 1,852
Received 369 Likes on 238 Posts
Default

Make sure that no pins got bent on the unit. As previously mention make sure your software is up to date. Your 1040 should have 6.8. 6.3 fix a problem with the GT23.
Old 02-14-2021, 06:01 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: The Big Bend, FL
Posts: 555
Received 121 Likes on 76 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gundog61 View Post
Make sure that no pins got bent on the unit. As previously mention make sure your software is up to date. Your 1040 should have 6.8. 6.3 fix a problem with the GT23.
I have not checked the pins, although it connected well. I'll check the software as well.
Old 02-18-2021, 07:13 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: The Big Bend, FL
Posts: 555
Received 121 Likes on 76 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Srbenda View Post
I have not checked the pins, although it connected well. I'll check the software as well.
Pins are good.

Old 02-19-2021, 07:44 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 1,852
Received 369 Likes on 238 Posts
Default

Is your software up to 6.8?
Old 02-19-2021, 06:18 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I had same issue and had no luck after replacing transducer. Had to convince Garmin to refurbish the 1040 unit. After the $500 refurbish all is well. Uploaded software prior did not help either.
Old 02-27-2021, 10:11 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: The Big Bend, FL
Posts: 555
Received 121 Likes on 76 Posts
Default

I'm running 2.5 software, which is a long way away from the most current version. I also hooked two different 8-pin transducers, a brand new GT23M, and a older CV23M. The unit didn't recognize either transducer, when I pull up the main menu, Sonar isnt even available as an option. This makes me believe something has happened to stop it reading any transducers.

I checked error messages, and there was a Sonar Service Lost error on October 16th, which might have been the last time I had working sonar....

I did a full factory reset in the hopes that would change, and it did nothing either.

Name:  20210227_114356-X2.jpg
Views: 66
Size:  356.4 KB

Old 03-02-2021, 09:53 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: The Big Bend, FL
Posts: 555
Received 121 Likes on 76 Posts
Default

Bump once more before I spend $$ on new.
Old 03-02-2021, 11:25 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 1,852
Received 369 Likes on 238 Posts
Default

If it was my unit I would update the software before buying a new one. It does not cost anything.
Old 03-02-2021, 11:31 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Lake Shore, MD
Posts: 332
Received 74 Likes on 61 Posts
Default

Definitely run the software updates, but if something is physically wrong with your sonar port you might have to send it in to get it fixed. However as that is expensive it seems best to rule out the other possibilities first.

It seems there are 3 possibilities.
1) software problem. Running the software update is free and might fix it. This could be the case and is an easy fix if it is.

2) bad transducer or wiring. If you have two units you can try plugging in the transducer to the other unit, if it does not work on either, the problem is probably the transducer or wiring.

Replacing that transducer is cheaper than buying a new unit.
Also you can try another transducer plugged into the unit. If the unit accepts the other transducer, the transducer it will not take is probably bad or has bad wiring. Then you have to replace the transducer.

Given you have already tried two transducers this is probably not the issue though.

3) bad hardware on the unit, which would probably require sending the unit in for repairs or replacing it.

Definitely first run the software update to rule out number 1.

Did you call Garmin about it? After you run the software update I would definitely call them before buying a new one, but you should update the software first, otherwise they first thing the are going to tell you to do is update the software and call back after you did.

Last edited by GregMachy; 03-02-2021 at 11:53 AM.
Old 03-06-2021, 07:10 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: The Big Bend, FL
Posts: 555
Received 121 Likes on 76 Posts
Default

Update: the software update worked on the new transducer, but not the old one.
My assumption is the old one had a failure, and the newer one wouldn't work because of software.
I'll install the new 'ducer and be back in business. Thanks to all who helped!
Likes:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.