Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

Old 01-31-2007, 07:38 PM
  #1  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 87
Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

I have a brand new Furuno 1623 that displays targets about 170 degrees off the actual bow heading. That is, if the bow is facing a buoy, the echo is painted below and to the right on the LCD display (around 5 o'clock).

I had the 1622 radar before on another boat and really liked it for my limited needs. It too required an alignment, albeit not as drastic as this new one. I followed the procedure documented in the manual and voila, it corrected perfectly.

The manual for the 1623 documents a very similar procedure which I have carefully followed, but unfortunately nothing ever changes on the display.

I know that I am following the procedure correctly and I have spoken to Furuno tech support 4 times now. They walked me through it click by click, but the display will not update to the new heading. They were very polite and eager to help, but ended up being just as puzzled as I. They recommended that I pay an authorized field tech to come to the boat and if there is a real problem with the unit (I swear it's not operator error), they will pay for the service call and warrantee the unit. So although they couldn't troubleshoot my prob over the phone, at least they offered additional recourse.

But, alas, before I go that route, I thought I would ask fellow THTers if anyone has experienced something similar to this (and preferably resolved it).

Thanks in advance for your comments. Please don't convert the thread into "You shoulda bought brand X or model X." I'm stuck with this little unit now and want to fix it.

Any suggestions?

Joe
Old 01-31-2007, 10:07 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 3,995
Likes: 0
Received 49 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Re: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

who did the install? If you installed it yourself, then their offer is fair. If the problem is with the unit they will pick up the tab, if not than its yours. If you paid a professional installer, I would have them back to the boat.
Old 02-01-2007, 06:30 AM
  #3  
gsniffen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

There is an electronic adjustment in the setup routine to align the display with the boat. I had the same issue and it drove me wild until I finally found a short reference in the manual. I'll see if I can find it and I'll post.
Go here http://www.furuno.com/Furuno/Rooms/D....entity.Entity[OID[5B0AC100D8DB194E8E11236279F60AAF]]&Product=com.webridge.entity.Entity[OID[29DA439D1530FB4CBF62E117CA6378C8]]&ProductCategory=com.webridge.entity.Entity[OID[07860AE52FC370459BC6725E87CAE5DB]]&Tab=com.webridge.entity.Entity[OID[610B2768C391FB40A6D1D849554A5C1A]]
On pages 27 and 28 follow the procedure for heading alignment. For some reason these units frequently come from the factory 180 degrees off.
That website didn't summarize, but it's in your operator's manual pp 27-28. If you don't have the manual go to the furuno website, look up your model, and click on manuals.
Old 02-01-2007, 10:14 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 4,510
Received 625 Likes on 329 Posts
Default Re: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

The alignment in the unit is really only meant for a few degrees of adjustment to get you "dead on"...If your targets are off by "5 o'clock" it sounds like your raydome is mounted 180 degrees off???? Reverse it and then use the fine adjustment and you should be fine..........
Old 02-01-2007, 07:34 PM
  #5  
gsniffen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

No...mine was about 175 degrees out of line and it corrected it.. Working fine since.
Old 02-01-2007, 10:41 PM
  #6  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 87
Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

Thanks for the replies. I have followed the manual exactly. In step 13, when you press the Mode key and then (step 14) the Menu/Esc key, the targets remain in the same position and do not rotate around.

Gsnifen, it does at least make me feel better to know that yours was also off significantly and still corrected. Tech support said the same thing - shouldn't matter.

The radome is mounted correctly.

My next idea is to hook up a new 1623 display that the electronics store down the road said I could borrow for an hour (where I bought the original).

I will report back once I figure this out. Frustrating.

Thanks,

Joe
Old 02-02-2007, 02:08 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 364
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

Not sure if this will help but I would start from scratch and go through the entire setup process as if it is the first time you turned the unit on.

When I installed my 1944 last year, I set something up incorrectly, I can't remember what it was, and it performed the same as your, that is everything was off 180 degrees. I went back and, now I remember, I set it up as if it was a 1954 (it asks you which model you have and I mistakenly put 1954). When I fixed this error, everything corrected itself.

As I said not sure if this will help but give it a try. Good luck.
Old 02-02-2007, 02:20 PM
  #8  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 33
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

My understanding is its not unusual for them to be off 180 degrees. My Furuno 36 mile unit (big dome) was. The reference in the manual is less than clear, but after an e-mail to support, they said follow the manual, and told me the key sequence again.

No big deal, and its worked great ever since.

Old 02-02-2007, 02:55 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,412
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

lilbert2 - 2/2/2007 3:20 PM

My understanding is its not unusual for them to be off 180 degrees. My Furuno 36 mile unit (big dome) was. The reference in the manual is less than clear, but after an e-mail to support, they said follow the manual, and told me the key sequence again.

No big deal, and its worked great ever since.
mine is a garmin 41 and nothing we do can change it from being off 180 degrees - after setting the offset, I don't care anymore...works perfect....
Old 02-02-2007, 03:32 PM
  #10  
gsniffen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

Glen, are you saying that you are looking at a backwards picture?

There's got to be a fix.
Old 02-03-2007, 12:12 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 16,428
Received 992 Likes on 766 Posts
Default Re: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

If it is not a menu/keying fix, you might check to insure any rate gyro or fluxgate compass heading sensor is aligned properly, correctly wired to the radar, menu-enabled including specified port, and nothing ferrous or electromagnetic like tools, anchor or other electric cabling is anywhere near the sensor. There may be an underway calibration procedure also as with auto-pilots.
Old 02-03-2007, 06:51 AM
  #12  
gsniffen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

Taxi, that's right. Joe, make sure you have it set to course up and move toward a piling or other fixed object and see what you get. Do you have it connected to a heading sensor or compass? If you do, you may want to disconnect it until you get this step behind you.
Old 02-03-2007, 11:46 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Indian River, De
Posts: 3,111
Received 217 Likes on 105 Posts
Default Re: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

This is probably obvious, but just to eliminate any other variables, I would make sure that it is set to "head-up". Then when you are facing a buoy directly in front of you, you know where the target should be on the display. Any other setting, may place the target somewhere else on the display.
Old 02-03-2007, 10:42 PM
  #14  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 87
Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

Head-up was the first thing I looked for in the system setup because I also run my GPS in Head-up mode.

I couldn't find a head-up setting in the menus. But as humiliating as it might be, I would love to be wrong here if someone knows the key sequence. I can find it on my buddies radar (1715, I think), but not on mine, the 1623.

No external compass or heading sensor connected.

I'm going to try a different display unit on Monday.

Thanks for the ideas,

Joe
Old 02-04-2007, 07:10 AM
  #15  
gsniffen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

Joe:
1. When you're trying to adjust the heading line, does it move at all?
2. One other place to look is the synchro belt in the raydome that synchs the display with the rotating magnetron. You might want to do a visual on that to make sure it's in place. It shouldn't have anything to do with the heading line, but it's easy enough to check.
I looked at your manual and it doesn't appear to have a heads-up, course-up or north-up selection on it.
Old 02-04-2007, 11:18 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Indian River, De
Posts: 3,111
Received 217 Likes on 105 Posts
Default Re: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

OK, let's try this; on mine, you select the presentation mode by:
1. Press HIDE/SHOW, to show the radar soft keys
2. Press the RADAR DISPLY soft key the show the radar soft keys.
3. Press the MODE soft key. Each press of the key changes the presentation mode through the sequence of North-up, True motion, Head-up, and Course-up.
4. Press RETURN soft key to finish.

Note: heading data is required for all modes EXCEPT Head-up. Hope this does it.
Old 02-05-2007, 06:30 AM
  #17  
gsniffen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

What's the news, Joe?
Old 02-05-2007, 11:03 PM
  #18  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 87
Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

Thanks for the continued ideas. I wish that the procedure were as easy as what CaptWil reports, but alas, that is definitely not my model (Furuno 1623). Mine does not have a Show Hide button, for example.

I popped the radome cover off and took a look-see, trying not to fry my brains out with the unit spinning and all. Somebody call the doctor if I start slurring my speech here. Everything looked great, sounded great. Belts were tight. I actually had to replace a synchro belt on my old 1622, so I'm pretty familiar with what it should be doing up there.

Tuesday afternoon I should have a second brand new display on loan to see if I can replicate the problem on that unit; that should be useful to know.

Wednesday I've got a tech scheduled to inspect, assuming I still need him.

Wish I had better news, but I'll continue to report when I find something. Thanks for the help,

Joe
Old 02-06-2007, 06:04 PM
  #19  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 87
Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

Things got a bit more interesting today. I borrowed a brand new 1623 display unit and connected it to my radome. Same problem replicated (won't update the heading). BUT, I also noticed something new, not sure how I missed it before:

Keep in mind that the boat is completely motionless during this testing and there are two enormous obvious targets detected (buildings). I rebooted the unit five times and each time the targets were displayed in a different position on screen--always the same distance, but at a different o'clock setting. The variance among the five different positions was as much as 120 degrees.

When I reconnected my display unit, I did the same test (5 reboots) with the same result (5 different, seemingly random positions for the targets)

Conclusion: something can't be right in the radome? Does that sound logical?

Technician arrives tomorrow. We'll see what he has to say.

The mystery continues,

Joe
Old 02-07-2007, 07:04 AM
  #20  
gsniffen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: Furuno Radar heading alignment problem

Joe: I agree there's probably something wrong with the synch. You might re-do your connections upstairs to insure all the plugs are seated, etc.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.