Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raytheon R21XX Radar question

Old 01-31-2007, 07:23 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Apollo Beach, FL
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Raytheon R21XX Radar question

I've just been given an old (but looks good!) Raytheon R21XX open array radar with display. I don't know yet if any of it works.

Will this array interface with a newer display, or would a new color display require a new, different array?
Thanks in advance for any input.

Old 01-31-2007, 08:35 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,190
Received 693 Likes on 430 Posts
Default Re: Raytheon R21XX Radar question

that is a good older unit, but unfortunately it isn't compatible with any of the newer displays.
Old 01-31-2007, 09:45 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Apollo Beach, FL
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Raytheon R21XX Radar question

Shucks.........I was afraid that may be the case. But thanks for the determination.

If it doesn't work when I hook it up, is it worth getting it fixed? By Raymarine, or by a local shop? Raymarine's fixed rates are pretty steep.......850.00, 1000.00, or 250.00 depending upon which part of the entire unit.
Old 02-01-2007, 10:43 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bayshore,ny
Posts: 806
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Raytheon R21XX Radar question

I have the 20xx which is exactly the same unit as the 21xx but with a dome.
these are excellent units and worth repairing if needed.
But they are not compatable with the newer elextronics.
You canalways vall raymarine in new hampshire and
ask for mike deluca he is the head radar tech.
They have all parts for these units.(except power cord youhave to call jrc in california if you need that).
I believe when new that radar was about 4000 dollars.
so it is worth fixing if needed.I know the batteries go in them and some times the
power supply in radar head (I had mine replaced)
good luck

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.