Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Radar Dome - Interchangeble

Old 12-06-2020, 02:01 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brigantine NJ
Posts: 146
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Radar Dome - Interchangeble

Can I use a radar dome made by Northstar with a Garmin or Simrad GPS? Are dome interchangeble between companies
Old 12-06-2020, 06:22 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,452
Received 512 Likes on 294 Posts
Default

Post a picture of the dome
Old 12-06-2020, 06:56 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 6,003
Received 585 Likes on 319 Posts
Default

I always thought they were proprietary but I could be wrong.
Old 12-06-2020, 09:03 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,313
Likes: 0
Received 1,110 Likes on 902 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Stickbo View Post
I always thought they were proprietary but I could be wrong.
Yes, but Northstar was for a period a Navico brand and used the same radars as Simrad.
Old 12-06-2020, 10:32 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 6,003
Received 585 Likes on 319 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
Yes, but Northstar was for a period a Navico brand and used the same radars as Simrad.
I was not aware of that. Good info.
Old 12-06-2020, 12:12 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brigantine NJ
Posts: 146
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
Yes, but Northstar was for a period a Navico brand and used the same radars as Simrad.
I did reach out to Navico about this and haven't heard back from them I'll continue to pursue this - Thanks
Old 12-06-2020, 02:12 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,452
Received 512 Likes on 294 Posts
Default

Post a picture or give us a model number, some NorthStar radars are compatible with newer simrad, some are not, tech support won't help
Old 12-07-2020, 02:24 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brigantine NJ
Posts: 146
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by mstyle8517 View Post
Post a picture or give us a model number, some NorthStar radars are compatible with newer simrad, some are not, tech support won't help
it's probably not compatible with todays systems. It's a northstar 6000I system from 2002, not sure of the radar dome model because I don't have the paperwork

Thanks to everyone who tried to help

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.