Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Any way to change color of AIS vessel in Garmin from green to something else?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Any way to change color of AIS vessel in Garmin from green to something else?

Old 11-22-2020, 09:32 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 169
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any way to change color of AIS vessel in Garmin from green to something else?

Just got AIS working on my Garmin 942xs. I noticed that all the vessels are green in color. Any way to change that default color to something else?
The reason why I ask is because my fishing marks are green also. Would like to change it to a contrasting color.

Thank you,
Bob
Old 11-22-2020, 03:11 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: hilton head island
Posts: 425
Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

they change to red as you get closer to collision
Old 11-22-2020, 03:51 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 785
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Can I ask how you set up AIS? I have a Garmin 7610 and gettin a 942 also. I also have a ICOM radio. Thanks
Old 11-22-2020, 04:09 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,487
Likes: 0
Received 436 Likes on 275 Posts
Default

Green = no hazard to ur vessel

if it changes to red could be a hazard plus you’ll cpa data displayed





Old 11-22-2020, 11:01 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 169
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Using a NMEA 2000 capable VHF radio is the easiest way. Just hook up the radio to the network and if it's transmitting positions, then vessels should show up on your GPS.

Bob
Old 11-23-2020, 03:39 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 785
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by wugubob View Post
Using a NMEA 2000 capable VHF radio is the easiest way. Just hook up the radio to the network and if it's transmitting positions, then vessels should show up on your GPS.

Bob
Thanks. I looked at my VHF and it seems to only have NEMA 0183. I'll look into it. Thanks

file:///C:/Users/Owner/Downloads/M330-330G-Instruction-Manual-01-10-2019.pdf
Old 11-23-2020, 04:46 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,097
Received 259 Likes on 214 Posts
Default

You need an AIS capable VHF as well. It can be done with NMEA0183 if VHF is AIS capable.

Jim

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.