Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

VHF mounting options.

Old 11-22-2020, 08:24 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VHF mounting options.

I just purchased a 2016 World Cat 230DC. The VHF is mounted in the side bulkhead at the helm at hip level. I cannot see or really work the controls. It is flush mounted, meaning the radio is inserted into the fiberglass with only the front panel exposed. Is there an easy way to mount it vertically so that the front panel faces up so I can see and access it? I would rather not totally move it.
Old 11-22-2020, 09:37 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,052
Received 769 Likes on 386 Posts
Default

What kind of radio is it? Some radios offer a remote speaker/mic combo with full controls on it. Look up "RAM-3" for Standard Horizon. Mount where you want/need.
Likes:
Old 11-22-2020, 11:30 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,491
Likes: 0
Received 436 Likes on 275 Posts
Default

You can mount the radio inside you helm and use a RAM/Command Mic.






Old 11-22-2020, 12:08 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you. That looks good.
Old 11-22-2020, 12:08 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you.
Old 11-22-2020, 01:05 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 5,918
Received 556 Likes on 302 Posts
Default

What kind of radio? Pics would help too.
Old 11-23-2020, 09:33 AM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am trying to make this decision remotely as the boat is in FLorida and I am in maine. It appears the radio is too old for the remote mic. I am just going to have it mounted in a binnacle on top of the helm. Easy to see and easy to replace when i decide I want a newer one!
Old 11-23-2020, 09:44 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Suburb of Sugar Tit SC
Posts: 14,347
Received 9,224 Likes on 4,981 Posts
Default

Not sure how you use your boat, but if the current radio is function, give consideration to just adding a second and placing it in a more advantageous location. Having a spare is a good thing from a safety standpoint, but also nice to be able to have them tuned independently in some circumstances.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.