Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Can Navionics card go bad?

Old 11-15-2020, 05:30 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eastern Shore Maryland
Posts: 38
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Can Navionics card go bad?

Two year old Lowrance Hook2 9 “ The Navionics card came with the unit as a bundle deal. Unit worked fine until a week ago and then started locking up and rebooting numerous times upon turning on . Called Lowrance tech and they suggested upgrade to new software for the Hook . No change. The strange part, is when I take the card out of the unit , it powers up and acts normal. If I had another card I could answer my own question, but don’t want to buy a card if it’s the reader in the unit. The card is original and has never been updated. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Old 11-15-2020, 05:54 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 306
Received 86 Likes on 62 Posts
Default

The problem you are experiencing is exactly a problem I had. This happened one time when my MFDs were cold (overnight freezing temps). The Navionics card went bad and had to replace it. The chip was confirmed bad by my electronics installer. No idea why it went bad. Suspect maybe some water got in and froze causing an issue with the chip. No issues with new replacement chip.

Last edited by DoubleDose; 11-15-2020 at 05:56 PM. Reason: Correction
Likes:
Old 11-15-2020, 07:38 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,743
Received 506 Likes on 394 Posts
Default

They can go bad, but more commonly, the contacts get dirty/dry.

Try this. Get some electronic contact cleaner spray and wipe the card contacts with a cotton bud dipped into the cleaner. Put card back in unit, then take it out and clean again. Repeat a few times, the idea is to get the card and machine contacts nice and clean.

Then reinstall and test.

Cards can be corrupted if you leave them in when you do software updates over wifi. Its always best to take the map card out and put a blank card in when doing software updates.

Last edited by Moonlighter475; 11-15-2020 at 08:12 PM.
Old 11-16-2020, 07:12 AM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eastern Shore Maryland
Posts: 38
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Thanks for the comebacks. I will try cleaning and let you know.
Old 11-16-2020, 09:27 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

CD cards can go bad. But as Moonligher475 stated, try cleaning the contacts. With the unit powered off spray some
electronic cleaner electronic cleaner
in the slot and on the contacts of the SD card. Wipe the contacts with a clean cloth and as soon as you spray the cleaner in SD slot, insert and remove the SD card several times and wipe the contacts off again. Give it a minute or 2 to dry, power up your GPS and try. If that doesn't work, repeat again. You can also try inserting your SD card into another device and see if that device can read your card. That will tell you if your card is working.
Likes:
Old 11-16-2020, 01:15 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 12
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Mine has been going for several years. Guess I should make a backup.
Old 11-16-2020, 01:19 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Deale, MD
Posts: 2,638
Received 1,129 Likes on 440 Posts
Default

My 9 month old Furuno GP1971F started doing exactly that. It would reboot itself 3-5 times in the morning taking 10-20 minutes to finally run normally.

Took out the 6 month old CMap card and now it works fine.

Zero success in getting CMap to return a phone call or email.

Pissed.
Old 11-16-2020, 02:13 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,158
Received 33 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

TS, contact Navionics. They always helped me out quickly
Old 11-17-2020, 10:11 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tljohnsn View Post
Mine has been going for several years. Guess I should make a backup.
I always do. The process is easy and well worth your time.
Old 11-17-2020, 10:36 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,158
Received 33 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

There is a hardware code in the Navionics SD card. So you can’t put your backup on another card and use it
Old 11-17-2020, 11:32 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hillsboro Inlet, S. FL
Posts: 442
Received 131 Likes on 67 Posts
Default

Correct, you can't just restore it to another card and use that. If that were the case, you could make as many copies as you wanted. The only thing the backup does, is in the case of the data on the original card becoming corrupted, but the card not being bad, you could restore the uncorrupted data back to the card, and get it working again. That is not a likely scenario.

The memory chips on SD cards do go bad, just like any other computer memory.
Old 11-17-2020, 03:58 PM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 12
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Wow, that is good to know
Old 11-20-2020, 07:29 AM
  #13  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eastern Shore Maryland
Posts: 38
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Just an update. Cleaned the contacts on card as well as in the unit four times. No change. Trying to get a new card now.
Old 11-21-2020, 12:19 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Naturallight View Post
Just an update. Cleaned the contacts on card as well as in the unit four times. No change. Trying to get a new card now.
In the meantime, if you know someone with a unit that uses the Navionics maps, insert your card and see what happens. That will confirm your card being corrupted/bad.
Old 11-29-2020, 05:20 PM
  #15  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eastern Shore Maryland
Posts: 38
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Just updating. Yes the card was bad. Bought used card off eBay and everything works as it should. Contact Navionics and waiting to see if they will do anything other then charge me $100 to update the card. Thanks to those that offered suggestions.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.